We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the "fine print."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakeville
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis/St. Paul
2 reviews
“Watch out for the "fine print."”
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My husband and I booked our wedding reception 13 months out at the HI – Lakeville for our 360 person guest list.
Four months before our wedding, we found out that I need to have and eye surgery at the Mayo Clinic that will make a SERIOUS dent in our finances – AKA the wedding budget!
So, we decided to cut the guest list down significantly (by 90%) and have the wedding at a smaller, more intimate venue.
We informed the HI – Lakeville more than 100 days out. We knew we would loose our $900 deposit, but the worse was yet to come.
Because our cancellation didn’t happen 180 days prior to the event (that’s 6 months!), we are still required to pay the $4,000 food and beverage minimum on top of the $900 deposit.
Talk about a low blow!
Now, our contract did state this fact in the fine print… but, seriously? Where’s the human compassion? The Customer Service? How about meeting us in the middle?
I’m sorry, but many people plan an entire wedding in less than 6 months. And this hotel is a beautiful facility, with a great location, and a wonderful restaurant/catering partner. It’s not like they couldn’t book the room. And do they really need that money more than we do?

Bottom line, we are completely disgusted with the “fine print” excuse of the HI – Lakeville. So, if you plan on booking an event there, make sure you mind is made up because there is no room for error.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrklug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    51
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
97
22
2
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We were there four nights while visiting my daughter in Northfield. No complaints, everyone was nice, the desk actually seemed happy to see us when we came and went. I got the best deal by calling the front desk directly.

The double-queen room was clean with a tiny bit of smell consistent with smokers in non-smoking rooms. The bathroom was really small, more of a box in the room. OK standard TV. Our room faced the indoor pool courtyard so there was some noise at times but it did not bother us. The indoor pools are a bit strange -- it's a big enclosed courtyard with no natural light. People seem to eat there but there was a definite smell of bleach. The steam room was a total joke, forget it. The gym has a couple of treadmills and a bike, it's OK but small.

The grill restaurant was surprisingly good, try the walleye sandwich. Across the freeway is a multiplex cinema -- the theater we were in was large with great projection and sound. If you build it they will come ...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizardts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Centre,Mn
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed at the hotel with my family which included 13 people so we had 3 rooms all together,it was absolutely wonderful,from the check in to the check out, we had an exceptional time.The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful,even helped us with purchasing our valleyfair tickets at the hotel which was great(we saved about $8 per person)we also ate at the restaurant numerous times-Rudy's Redeye Grill,the food and atmosphere was fantastic,I definetely recommend this hotel and will absolutely for surely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaukCentreGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel for the past two years during the holiday season. The staff were so friendly and very helpful. The accommodations were excellent-it had been renovated in the past two years-comfortable beds, pillows and flat screen TV-the works. We are going back for a third time next year- what a great mini vacation for the family!!!! Keep up the great work Holiday staff!!!!!

  • Liked — pool area was large enough to acommodate family gathering
  • Disliked — nothing it was wonderful
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank liggy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rock valley, iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn in Lakeville, after the Holiday Inn in Owatonna was booked full, they led us to this one. Although the waterpark was much smaller than the one in Owatonna, our kids still had a great time. The staff was SUPER friendly and very helpful. In fact, she knew since we would be using the pool, she upgraded us to a pool side suite without us even asking. We ate at the restaurant there and they gave us free breakfast and meal coupons for all our kids under 12 which helped a lot since we have a large family, and the meals were kind of spendy but VERY good. The rooms were very nice, nicely updated with nice plasma t.v. in the living room area. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone heading up to the cities, or as we did, it's not too far from Valleyfair.

  • Liked — very friendly, nice pool area, great restaurant on site, location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gjrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2008

I agree with very much of what the other previous reviewers have indicated. The hotel looks fresh, spacious and very clean. The finishes are very well done - nice materials, wall art, and furnishings in both the rooms and common areas. The front desk was pleasant, efficient and helpful. We asked where we could get a bottle of wine and they had a prepared hand-out that got us right there. As others have indicated, this is an excellent hotel for families with small children. The courtyard rooms (on ground floor) walk out to a very nice landscaped aquatics area -- with features that are and very kid friendly, like zero depth splashground, etc. I agree that those not interested in the walk out convenience to the aquatics should book an exterior facing room, to avoid the additional expense and the possible noise factor (although we did not notice that the pool area was particularly noisy). The hotel has a small conference area. The night we were there (a Saturday) there was a wedding reception, for which the hotel seemed very well suited and not intrusive to the other guests. The attached restaurant looked interesting although we did not eat there. This is not an HI Express so there was no complimentary breakfast, but that is not a big deal for us -- there is coffee in the lobby. We stayed while picking up our daughter who goes to college in Northfield, about 20 minutes away. The hotel options in Northfield are limited and this was a good, reasonably close choice at the last minute. I started to give this a 4 because it is not a high end hotel but it did everything I would want in its class -- so a 5.

  • Liked — Spacious feel, nice furnishings, very clean
  • Disliked — Location and view dominated by the interstate highway (but noise not a factor)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank landscapephotograghr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Midwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago and its decor is absolutely beautiful. The beds are extra comfortable too. It looks brand new, since it was recently renovated. The waterpark area consists of one waterslide into a pool that is around is 3 1/2 feet deep and then a kiddie area with a 0 depth pool, lots of spraying water and a small slide for the young ones. Our children were very content with this waterpark and their ages are 5 and 8. There is a hot tub in the pool area too. We really liked all of the seating around the pool area, since we were with a large group and needed an area to gather. They were quick to clean up the area after other groups had gathered to eat meals in this area as well.
When we went to sleep and shut our tv off, we could hear the people in the next room. Not sure if it was because they were being extra noisy or it was because the walls were thin. We called the front desk and it was taken care of right away.
We wish there would have been a complimentary newspaper or at least one to purchase in the lobby and there wasn't. Overall, we would stay at this hotel again if we were in the area.

  • Liked — The room comfort and hotel decor.
  • Disliked — No newspaper for guests.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beatricebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakeville
Quality Inn Lakeville
#3 of 4 in Lakeville
53 reviews
6.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Conference Apple Valley
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Burnsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
6.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Nicollet Inn
6.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Apple Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites
Address: 20800 Kenrick Ave, Lakeville, MN 55044-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) Lakeville, Minnesota Hotel!Of all Twin Cities hotels, the award-winning Holiday Inn(R) Hotel Lakeville, MN offers the most appealing accommodations for guests of any agenda. This hotel's location near Mall of America, just 15 miles away, attracts shopping fans, and Twin Cities businesses bring corporate guests, too. If you're looking for area hotels near Mall of America or the Twin Cities, opt for our Lakeville, Minnesota hotelLeisure travelers appreciate this Twin Cities hotel's location near popular area attractions. Not only is our hotel near Mall of America, but we're also just 25 minutes from downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Valleyfair, the Minnesota Zoo, Buck Hill Skiing, Canterbury Park, county fairgrounds and the Minnesota Twins are also nearby.This always accommodating Lakeville Minnesota hotel, just off I-35, is close to St. Paul River Center and the Minneapolis Convention Center, ideal for those attending conventions. We offer event space, perfect for meetings or Lakeville weddings, and a Business Center. It's hard to find other Twin Cities hotels with this many corporate options.Whatever brings you to the Twin Cities area, this hotel's location in Lakeville, MN promises the ultimate in convenience and quality service. Unlike many hotels in Lakeville, MN we boast an indoor water park, perfect for the kids. Choose a name you can trust and stay at the Holiday Inn(R) Lakeville, Minnesota hotel.Features An indoor water park, free Wi-Fi and convenient access to the Twin Cities, Buck Hill, Valleyfair, the zoo and Mall of America make the Holiday Inn(R) Lakeville hotel the best among area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Minneapolis-Lakeville
Holiday Inn Lakeville
Lakeville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing