We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on it's past lorels”

Chart House Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 70 Restaurants in Lakeville
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Living on it's past lorels”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at the Chart House for well over 30 years...back when the pool was where the patio is currently. The food and service needs improvement. Back in the day,when CAPTAIN DAN were in the house things were different. This could be a great restaurant again with a new operator. Don't bother to waste your time or money here. Lakeville and Burnsville now have better offerings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summerone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    13
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
638 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Server...that's it”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to Rupert's (chart house) With a $50 coupon...First of all it WAS expensive...I had the ALASKAN salmon ( which looked and tasted like ALANTIC salmon) ..my wife started with Chicken & pasta...she decided it was off tasting like it was old...the server took it back and wanted to get my wife something else on the house...she said just a burger ( deciding it was more the level they could handle) the head cook came out met with her to find out first hand what was wrong ( that was a good touch)...she asured him just a burger ...WELL DONE..after waiting forever for the burger the waitress ( who was wonderful about the whole thing) brought it out along with a dish of fruit...my wife cut the burger and it was pink in the middle!!! again the poor waitress brought it back to the kitchen...this time the head cook brought it out himself and had her cut it while he was still there...by now I was long done with everything...they took my wifes's meal off the bill and brought us a peice of carrot cake we brought home...even with her meal off it was still $39....we won't be back even with a coupon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
“Expected Better Food & Service”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We held our family reunion with 100 people at the ChartHouse Resturant in Lakeville. I have to say the place looked great which was the only good part. We meet with ChartHouse before to sample the food which was to be served and to our surprise the food served that night was different portions then what was presented before hand. The food was alot smaller portions. To top that off we even ran out of food considering the amount of food which was invoiced we should have had plenty. The food was suppose to start at 6:30 and was finally served by 6:45, with raw hambugers the size of a 1/2 dollar being served and egg rolls 1/2 the size, with pizza sticks only about 2 to 3 inches. Original we did not order a keg but then saw the cost for a drink or beer and decided we should order one. ChartHouse was kind enough to get a keg for us, but when served it was bad. Again we waited about 20 to 25 minutes for another keg to be opened. Lastly where the food was set up we were to host a game, we ask twice to have the tables removed, eventually we took these down ourselves..Needless to say all of us were very disappointed with the service that night and will probably not return.

We held this same event 40 years ago there and all was great!.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendyk_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fine food but not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Decent seafood. Food quality has gone own. They need a visit form Restaurant Impossible

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I went there for lunch and we ended up wasting our whole afternoon. It took forever to get our drinks (how long does it take to open a bottle of beer), food and check. I ordered a $13 salad which didn't even come with a piece of bread. It was just bad. The only redeeming factor was being able to sit outside. Growing up as a kid in Lakeville, the Charter House was known for being a classy place to go - no more. It's really too bad.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank do244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chart House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing