We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and awesome Gelato! ”
Review of Caffe Dell' Isola - CLOSED

Caffe Dell' Isola
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed our lunch here. It sounds like there has been a change in ownership but things seem to be running well now. Shared the large Romana pizza with my husband. The dough and tomato base were both really fresh and the pizza had that lovely smokey quality that only comes from wood fired ovens. Only constructive criticism is that the pizza could have done with a bit extra in the oven as it was a bit under done in the middle but this didn't make much difference. The gelato was really delicious. I had the Mon Cherry - dark chocolate with heaps of gooey Amaretto sour cherries and a really generous serve. My husband had the Turkish Delight (lovely rosewater flavour) and spiced fig and they were both yummy. Staff were also very friendly.

Thank pam134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2015

We ate here 3 times and each time the meal was great, esp the pizzas and the gelato ice cream. Great coffee + great location=

Thank PaddyKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlene N Mick H, Owner at Caffe Dell' Isola, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2015

Thank you for taking time to review our caffe! We are glad you enjoyed the pizza and hope you get to return to the Island :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

The new owners are getting used to the great location of their new cafe. They are open for breakfast and lunch and were closing at 3 most afternoons but were open late of Fridays and weekends. Pizzas were gourmet style and quite good.

3  Thank Sally4den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for a bite to eat on our way to Alma Bay and were seriously disappointed.

We ordered two Blueberry smoothies, a chicken schnitzel sandwich and a Mediterranean panini.

The smoothies lacked any Blueberry flavour at all and just tasted of milk with a few berries added for colour.

The sandwiches arrived on a plate on their own. No garnish, no salad, no crisps just a sandwich. Mine was average, and not actually a schnitzel. The sourdough was extremely tough. My better half's panini was made from two slices of shop bought loaf, not baguette or ciabatta and was cold. Pretty poor all in all.

We paid $44 for two sandwiches and two smoothies. What we got wasn't even worth half of that.

We've since read reviews about this good establishment changing hands recently. It's such a shame that it wasn't better as it is in a beautiful spot and could clean up with all the passing trade.

Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlene N Mick H, Owner at Caffe Dell' Isola, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2015

Thank you for your feedback Joe! We have certainly taken your review on board and are taking steps to improve the menu. Panini prices start at $7.90 so this doesn't allow much room for 'extras'. However we are also taking steps to improve or replace the paninis. As new owners we did not want to rush in and make changes to the existing menu until we see what works.

As for your smoothies, not sure what happened here as they are a very popular item on the menu. Next time you are on the Island, call in, introduce yourself and have berry filled smoothie on us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

I have previously reviewed this cafe and could not fault the service, food, coffee - BUT.............. I was left unimpressed after a visit on the weekend. It was obvious there had been a change in ownership. Everyone seemed flustered! We were ordering 3 meals but unfortunately the woman put 1 order on a separate docket. The other two meals were on the very next docket. However the "chef" made it clear in a loud rude voice that they wouldn't be served at the same time. The woman asked him twice to please make them up together but he said no. Fortunately they did come out together though 2 of the three meals were inedible. Waste of time and money. We will not return! What a shame !

1  Thank Jennipher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlene N Mick H, Owner at Caffe Dell' Isola, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. We are disappointed that your experience was so poor and that you are not prepared to give us another try.

I remember you well from that morning. This was our first breakfast with new staff and we had catered and staffed according to advice from previous owners and this time of year. However we had an unprecedented and extremely busy breakfast and were taken by surprise!

The staff member who served you was not aware you were with other people and your friends had already gone to sit down before you ordered. There was a large crowd of people waiting behind you to be served and your rude and insistent manner only served to make our staff more flustered. Other customers were also upset by this manner.

We certainly apologise for any heat of the moment response from our chef and acknowledge we should take the 'higher road' on this incident. We are also sorry that your breakfast was 'inedible' and that you did not return it for a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Dell' Isola also viewed

 
Arcadia, Magnetic Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing