We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing find!”
Review of Romantic Vineyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romantic Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Amherst B&B and Inns
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What an amazing find!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We found this place by accident on the internet looking for somewhere to stay and eat for one night on the way from Mildura to Geelong, on the 23rd December. The menu got us initially with an eclectic mix of cuisines including Cajun, Turkish and Italian. We phoned the day before and Renee was super-friendly over the phone, it was no problem to accommodate 3 of us, and no problem to cater for a vegetarian. When we arrived both Renee and Dave made us feel like we were staying at our friends' place, we sampled some wines, then had a glass at the bar with Dave before sitting down for a delicious Italian pasta. We got to listen to Dave's amazing collection of vinyl outside by the fire and sample his amazing beer brewed on-site. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinaromantica, Owner at Romantic Vineyard, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed having you all here! It was as much fun for us .We hope we get to see you again. Dave and Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We made a late enquiry & nothing was too much trouble for the rest of our trip. Dave was a great host on arrival, very personable and attentive to every need including ensuring we were duly entertained and had a great time. Dave is quite an accomplished beer brewer as well! Renee was a happy ball of energy and a wonderful hostess, ensuring we enjoyed a great dinner in a relaxed, stress free and homely setting. The cottage was very comfortable with every need catered for & waking up to a vineyard extending almost from the foot of your bed is fantastic.

Thanks to Dave & Renee for making our weekend an enjoyable and memorable experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinaromantica, Owner at Romantic Vineyard, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our property. What a nice surprise. We enjoyed having you guys here! It was a lot of fun meeting you and spending time with you all. The puppies say hello. (Yes, they are still here....) Hope to see you again soon. Keep in touch. All the best, Renee and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Over three consecutive nights, we had three radically different dinners at Renee's extraordinary rural restaurant. A vegetarian and fish dinner for five (lentil and mushroom entree followed by fillets in a Spanish sauce) on Good Friday, wood-fired pizzas for six and more on Saturday (including some brilliant tofu blending for the non-dairy eaters, and an amazing New Orleans-inspired 'muffalata', which needs to be eaten rather than described) and for Easter Sunday, a traditional-style roast lamb with oven vegetables and perfectly timed 'challa' bread. Though our group doesn't drink much alcohol, the merlot-tampanillo blend red wine and Czech-style pilsener beer, both made on-site at Renee's and Dave's vineyard, perfectly matched our meals and mood. Renee is a welcoming host who invests great effort and expertise in all her meals. The strong international flavour of her intimate country restaurant is perhaps surprising in such a setting – but this is the Goldfields, after all! Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: The cottage is really romantic. Best bed ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed starry nights at the campfire with Dave and Millie. We enjoyed the amazing hospitality of Dave. He lent us two bikes. So we were able to ride and take Millie on a run. We also appreciated the warmth and time Dave gave us, sharing his music while sipping some great local wine infront of the campfire. He also allowed me to play with his great music!
We felt completely refreshed by the time we got back to Melbourne. We will definitely be back again!!! Thank you both for your wonderful hearts and warmth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinaromantica, Owner at Romantic Vineyard, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank-you so much for your kind review. I am sorryi wasn't able to meet you, but very happy to know Dave and Millie took such good care of you. Hope you can come again to visit us soon. All the best for the New Year. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in the self-contained cottage. What a delight this place is. They are pet-friendly, and our dog had a fabulously lazy weekend sitting in front of the fireplace. Renee and Dave are the perfect hosts. 2 breakfasts and one dinner was included in our package and the meal was to die for. Renee is a chef and takes great pride in food, wine and service. The view of the vineyard in the morning is breathtaking. The cottage is large with kitchenette, DVD player and fireplace. There is plenty of wood to fire up the fireplace. Should you need supplies, it's a short 10 minute drive to Talbot [general store], or around 25min to Maryborough [large supermarket]. Millie the dog had a litter prior to our arrival and they were adorable sitting by the fireplace, as we ate dinner in the main residence. Dave loves a chat, and brews his own beer. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking an affordable break from Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife and I go away once a year with no kids so we wanted a quiet spot that was comfortable and pleasant. Romantic Vineyard was a home away from home. The food was fantastic (thanks Renee) and I still think about it when I am hungry. The wines were great and Dave ensured we always had enough. The bed was awesome and we were very comfortable. An en-suite would have been great but it was not too much of a hassle. We stayed in the cottage and loved the view in the morning. If you want to spend time together but also meet some great people then then is the place. Dave and Renee, thank you. We loved our time with you and on the farm as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Renee and Dave could not have done more for us in the planning for our recent family reunion. Seventy people catching up with one another in that beautiful Talbot area from which our pioneering ancestors came. An awesome project but nothing seemed too much trouble and Renee's amazing cooking and Dave's fantastic wines (as well as home brew to die for) made the day a wonderful success. My wife and I had stayed overnight some weeks before and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful, quiet environment, the well appointed rooms and again the genuine warmth and excellent service provide by our hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Romantic Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Vineyard

Property: Romantic Vineyard
Address: 280 Lillicur Road, Amherst, Victoria 3371, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantic Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage at the Romantic Vineyard is a large studio with everything you might need to relax and rejuvenate. A very comfy king sized bed with latex topping. Your own private bathroom and shower. (Outside the room along the covered terrace.) The cottage has a very comfortable down sofa, Sony TV with FoxtelDVD player plus a large DVD library,a wood burning fireplace in the winter (Wood is supplied at no extra cost.)There is a small refrigerator,sink complimentary selection of teas, kettle, coffee pod machine and milk frother with organic coffee pods. A large terrace surrounds the entire cottage with tables and chairs and a rocking glider to sit back in and sip your wine from the Vineyard. (The cottage sits on top of the wine cellar). No wandering down in the middle of the night)!!! In addition we have 2 guest rooms in the main house with their own entrance. One room (Cabernet Room) offers a queen bed and sofa with private ensuite. The Merlot room has 2 single beds. Down comforters and pillows are provided although we do have non-feather pillows for those that prefer them. The Cabernet room has a private ensuite. The Merlot room shares a bath with the owners. The Vineyard sits on 19 acres, 3 km down a dirt track. Very private, located in the Pyrenees wine region with many wineries to visit within 20 minutes of our Vineyard. Maryborough, Clunes and Avoca are just a 20 minute drive from the Romantic Vineyard. We are fully licensed and offer dinner to our guests and the public for just $35 for a 2 course gourmet dinner. We also cater for special events and can seat up to 50 people weather permitting. The owners (Renee and Dave) live on premise and are here to make sure you have a pleasant and unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Romantic Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing