We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/06/22
Booking.com
$61
View deal
Trip.com
$50
View deal
Hotels.com$66
Priceline$66
getaroom.com$273
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
194
125
53
16
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
194
125
53
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roti canai business trip business hotel shopping mall f b buffet breakfast industrial area room was spacious mainland penang choices spread md duty butterworth gm grab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 411 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2019

The room is good and the breakfast spread is great. However, the check in process was an unpleasant experience with GSA name Izza. Even though i've already booked a king bed room, she said it was fully booked and didn't make any effort to find a king bed room. Luckily her colleague Carmen step in and help to get a king bed room. I have booked 2 rooms that day and requested for 1 king and 1 twin and this problem shouldn't have happened. Nevertheless, besides this issue, everything about the stay was great

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank AmieRyoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

Thanks to all staff for your service. Credit to ms.Ezza for her kind assist my family. Good service and love the variety of foods for breakfast. Great location, really pleasant and clean rooms, but the thing that makes this such a good place to stay are the staff. All of the people are incredibly helpful and generous with their time and advice.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank wawa_mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Light_Hotel, General Manager at The Light Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Guest,

Delightful Greetings from The Light Hotel Penang!

We are most grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to recognise our associates for their friendly service namely Ms Ezza, our Guest Service Ambassador. We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and we look forward to your return soon.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

Well what can i say, from the moment you step in at the main entrance, you can see smiles from the staff at the door, greeting you ‘Selamat Datang’ .. the warmness that they showed me made me feel so welcome . Room was fantastic, clean. The bed is good. TV channel was interesting, watched my fav Fixer Upper. Ordered grilled chicken and it was tender and juicy. Too bad i was here only for one nite for business trip. Wish i could stay longer. And again the check out was smooth and from the reception to the staff at the door and to the staff who open the the car door for me and even to the one at the parking ticket machine.. the word ‘terima kasih’ is always there.. and the smile on their face.. it was so sincere .. Well, u can tell when someone is smiling sincerely or not right? Kudos to all the staffs and management of The Light Hotel! I will definitely come again!! Keep up the good job!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Itaajis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Light_Hotel, General Manager at The Light Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Guest,

Delightful Greetings from The Light Hotel Penang!

Your kind words of appreciation has been a great source of inspiration for our team and has motivated them to serve better thus ensuring our guests take back fond memories.

We aim to surpass our guest’s expectations and nothing make us happier than a good testimonial that we are meeting this objective through comments such as yours.

It was pleasure and we trust you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you again.

Thank you.

Best reagrds,
Raj



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

We have a very pleasant stay.
Staff were very friendly.
Good breakfast with many options.
In room dining were very good too.. try their Carbonara
There a lot of restaurant nearby in walking distance.
Kiblat direction also provided
They have time slot for ladies at the pool which is very great!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank hziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Light_Hotel, General Manager at The Light Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear Guest,

Delightful Greetings from The Light Hotel Penang!

We are absolutely delighted to acknowledge your detailed feedback about our hotel. We are pleased to note that your experience was great and we lived up to your expectation.

Thank you for sharing your review. We will look forward to welcoming you back at The Light Hotel soon.

Best regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

We had to do an emergency visit to Penang as a family. We booked two rooms and were worried we would not get to stay close to each other but the receptionist Chelcy ensured we got the family suite which was AMAZING and ensured we all were comfortable and close by. The hotel room was great and comfortable. We also really enjoyed the breakfast that came with the room, and service by staff we’re great all around. We didn’t expect the hotel to be the highlight of the trip but it definitely was. Will definitely come back when we need to stay in mainland Penang again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ilmira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Light_Hotel, General Manager at The Light Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Dear Guest,

Delightful Greetings from The Light Hotel Penang!

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guests and your generous comments were shared with our associates and all were very happy.

It is great to know that you left with pleasant memories of your recent visit with us and we can't wait for you to return again in the near future.

Best regards,
Raj










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews