We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great transit location”
Review of Kidmans Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Bourke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kidmans Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great transit location”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed a night during transit northward. The standard cabin provided a suitable facility to house us comfortably for the night, but it was a surprise that we were to use the park amenities as there was none available in the cabin. The pool was very refreshing and in a lovely setting. The camp kitchen provided all the necessary equipment.
Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    84
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
98
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Umina, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We come with Caravan and this park was recommended by a number of people that we met on our travels. The park is not pet friendly however the park in town is. The sites are grass covered and well kept. Given the climate out there it is quite a credit to the Management.

The amenities are very clean and tidy. A great place to rest up.

We walked to the river and enjoyed the afternoon river tour which is well worth it. However be aware that getting to the river is a fare but enjoyable walk, that said you can drive.

Room Tip: The park is popular with caravan folk and others therefore would suggest that you phone ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twostedys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had no idea what to expect and we were certainly impressed with what was on offer. We were told to find our site, and this we did, and it was of a generous size. It was close to amenities, which were well maintained and very clean. The gardens were well kept, and management ensured that the grass underfoot was well watered. Very quiet in the evening, with the occasional truck passing. Check out the sunset, absolutely brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandykperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Only downside is they do not allow dogs. Also a bit out of town, which is both a blessing and an annoyance. Location and size of caravan sights a real plus. The 'Poets on a Plate' is excellent value, a homecooked meal and honest bush poetry, you should time your visit to include a Tuesday night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treefrog4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter and Trace... S, Manager at Kidmans Camp, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our park and the campfire dinner and bush poetry. Just so everyone knows, Poetry on a Plate (run by Andrew Hull, the "Bard of Bourke") is currently on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays, but it will be finishing for the year at the end of October, and will not be starting up again until sometime around Easter 2014 (exact dates not yet confirmed).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Primarily promoted in the basis of its cabins but the caravan park area is really good. A bit out of town but a nice atmosphere and no permanents. A touch pricey but facilities are good. Free shuttle bus in to the Bowlo for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After many recommendations we pulled in for a relaxing 3 days. The site we were offered was for overnighters, consequently very narrow. Each afternoon we had vans very close, our view obscured. Was a total disappointment. There were many spacious sites available at this park on which we would have fit. My advice to other travellers is, choose your own site!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aroamatherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good grassy campsites, good clean facilities, great feel to the place.We went to the "Poetry on a plate" night, held around an innovative campfire area. It was well attended which reflected how high a reputation has been built. It was a most enjoyable evening and helped our positive impression of the park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bourke
3.2 mi away
Bourke Riverside Motel
3.1 mi away
Darling River Motel
Darling River Motel
#2 of 5 in Bourke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.3 mi away
Major Mitchell Motel
Major Mitchell Motel
#3 of 3 in Bourke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidmans Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidmans Camp

Property: Kidmans Camp
Address: Mitchell Highway, North Bourke, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > North Bourke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Bourke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Kidmans Camp is more than just a stay, it is an experience of true outback hospitality in style! Located 6kms north of Bourke on the road to Cunamulla, our property includes 20 cabins, over 100 powered sites, two unpowered camping areas, a large ablutions block, laundry facilities, a camp kitchen with two gas BBQs, swimming pools, and access to the Jandra Paddleboat and river (boat access on other side of river).During the tourist season (~April to October), Poetry on a Plate is hosted in our park. This includes a slow cooked dinner and dessert served around a campfire, while you are being regaled by the Bard of Bourke with his entertaining bush poetry. Also during the tourist season, you can be picked up by the Mateship Country Tours, which takes you on a historical tour of town, as well as around the local fruit and cotton farms, and into the cotton gin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing