We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Fun!”
Review of Itasca State Park

Itasca State Park
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Lake Itasca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1891, Itasca is Minnesota's oldest state park. Today, the park totals more than 32,000 acres and includes more than 100 lakes. Walk across the mighty Mississippi as it starts its winding journey 2,552 miles to the Gulf of Mexico. Stand under towering pines at Preacher's Grove. Visit the Itasca Indian Cemetery or Wegmann's Cabin, landmarks of centuries gone by. Camp under the stars, or stay the night at the historic Douglas Lodge or cabins. Explore Wilderness Drive past the 2,000-acre Wilderness Sanctuary, one of Minnesota's seven National Natural Landmarks.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So Fun!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went to see the "headwaters of the Mississippi River". It was so fun watching kids & adults walking & hopping across the rocks of the headwaters. Kids swimming next to the rocks, running through the paths in the trees. The kids were just so delighted & fun to watch & it gave me many happy childhood memories. Just the thot of how the "mighty Mississippi " came from this beautiful place was so amazing!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    52
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Wilderness Wonderland”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

So much to do, so much to see in the outdoors/wilderness of northern Minnesota. We appreciated the ease of getting around the park on the wilderness road and the visitor's center.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapello, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Itasca State Park/ Douglas Lodge”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Love the Douglas Lodge ~ I recommend the Wild Rice Dish ~ theres a nice exhibit outside the entrance to the trails that lead to the Headwaters ( where the mighty Mississippi gets her start ) along with a second gift shop ( another across from the Douglas Lodge ) , restrooms & restaurant I think its nice to be able to get in the water so with that said wear something you don't mind getting wet ( swimsuit ) and take a towel and a change of clothes and if you plan on walking across the wet rocks maybe a good water shoe . It can be a pretty busy place ~ but a tradition your family will look forward to repeating ~ theres a lot of other activities to do in the park , like rent bikes, hike, etc. and much more than we have time for but definitely worth checking out .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Starrynight50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Northern Entrance”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Only cost $5 for a carload day pass into the park. Just fill out the envelope and drop in your cash at the self-serve station at the entrance and you are on your way. This park has many features, including over 100 lakes. Our only interest today was to visit the headwaters of the Mississippi River, which we did, along with dropping a few bucks in the gift shop. Took in the trails and read a lot about the history of the whole area on the many kiosks and signs along the way. I definitely recommend everyone go here at least once in their life.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Mississippi River begins”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was a return visit after a 35 year absence. There have been many, many improvements since my last visit. The improvement that I liked was the restaurant and the the visitor's center.
This is a wonderful attraction and the young children have so much fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank coolbreeze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Itasca State Park also viewed

 

Been to Itasca State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing