We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing views

Amazing park, amazing views, easy to hike and walk, we did cross over the Mississippi! It was fun... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Barb S
,
Bloomington, Minnesota
A must see

We always take our visiting Norwegian tour groups to the Mississippi Headwaters. They love it — the... read more

Reviewed October 11, 2018
Leslee49
,
Rockford, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 434 reviews
  
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
355
60
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
60
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mississippi river fire tower hiking trails visitor center douglas lodge white pine east entrance bug spray wild rice wilderness drive bear paw boat tour gift shop old growth northern minnesota walleye swimming beach
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing park, amazing views, easy to hike and walk, we did cross over the Mississippi! It was fun, we also went all the way up to the top of the Ranger Tower and the views were again, amazing.

Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

We always take our visiting Norwegian tour groups to the Mississippi Headwaters. They love it — the nature, the history, its relevance. Rain or shine it is a great place to bisit

Thank Leslee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

The visitor's center is very nice with a lot of interesting information. The shop is pricey but has a lot of variety. The walk to the headwaters is beautiful and there is a plank bridge that allows you to walk over the Mississippi. Highly recommended.

Thank bettytisdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

It had snowed the night before our visit and the snow stuck around. But it was a gorgeous park. Our GPS tried to take us in through a very muddy backroad that is NOT an actual entrance so when you get close to the park just follow the road signs and ignore your GPS. There is a short nature trail around the back of the visitor lodge. We then drove through the part to get to the Mississippi headwaters. The lodge in this area has a cafe as well to warm up after the trails here. Unfortunately the wilderness drive was closed during our visit due to high winds but I’m told it’s highly recommended in good weather. I wish we had more time to explore this park.

Thank lcdemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Camped at Itasca State Park 10/2/18.
Beautiful weather! The leaves in our opinion were at peak colors Amazing!
Campground was pretty empty. I love traveling in the fall. Less people.
Had a great time. Of course we had to cross the headwaters of the Mississippi River

Thank mtieden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We had so much fun walking in the water and the view was amazing. The trails are so relaxing and beautiful. The gift shop and restaurant are nice. The informational area was super cool. We stayed nearby at a camp ground. This was one if our favorite trips.

Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

I have lived in MN all my life (62), yet never been to this park. Of course it is beautiful, but so well organized, so clean and so friendly! We stayed in a little log cabin built during the Depression, and hiked a number of trails. Easy to find our way. Helpful, enthusiastic employees. Be sure to climb the fire tower. Unbelievable beauty.

1  Thank TimNewton1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Itasca State Park has always been a favorite get away. Enjoy a family picnic, walk across the headwaters of the Mississippi (always a good photo op with the kids), Marvel at the beauty of Preachers Grove and so much more. You will not be disappointed!

Thank flyingsolo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Went to lake Itaska the headwaters of the Mississippi River. About a thousand feet walk from the parking lot to the headwaters. People go in and was in the water. Connie was our guide and she was fantastic. Highly recommend. Rating... excellent

Thank Iralgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We. didn't know about this place and when filling gas 7 miles away on our way to Fargo, ND, we were told about it. Was very exciting to see the start of the Mississippi River and to walk across on the rocks.
We also went to the fire watch tower which stands at 100 feet - 15 flights of 9 steps to give a magnificent view of the entire area. This climb is not for the faint of heart and if you have the slightest fear of heights, I wouldn't suggest climbing up. For those who do go, you won't be sorry.

2  Thank Lonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews