We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Elmo
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Definitely not what I expected when I discovered I'd be staying in the Holiday Inn on a recent business trip. Not that there is anything wrong with the brand, you just don't expect it to have so much character and dare I say style. My room was quite large and very comfortable. Everything looked brand new and was exceptionally clean. The staff was friendly and competent. I can't say a single bad thing about this property.
If you are planning a meeting here your attendees will be more than happy with their rooms and the meeting space is very interesting. Definitely not the typical boring ballroom...lots of windows and lots of light.
If you are a business traveler you cannot go wrong here. It's not far from the airport, about 1/2 hour drive? If you're at all health conscious you'll want to skip eating at the shed as everything seems to be beige and fried (but good)...there's a shopping plaza across the street that has other options where you might have better luck with variety.

Room Tip: One of my colleagues had a room that opened onto the pool area. Others have said it's noisy ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraciAB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
17
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. There was a block of rooms reserved for the many out of town guests. The rooms were very large, clean, and comfortable. You could not hear the noise of the shower while in the main room. The rooms that face the pool area can be noisy at times and smell like chlorine. I wish there had been some sort of continental breakfast offered as that would have made our morning so much more relaxing. The internet connection to the room was slow and bit spotty. Overall, the hotel was fine but for the price I think it could have been better.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool courtyard smell like chlorine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfrenchhoari, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments, we will look into your suggestions.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Mo French
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn and Suites for a business meeting on the property in January. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. The complimentary wifi was a plus and it was very fast. The meeting spaces we were in were perfect for our group and the free happy hour bar was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently hosted our wedding reception at Wildwood. The hotel was fully book the Friday before and Saturday of the wedding. This situation was obviously overwhelming to the staff and resulted in a less than pleasant experience by many. My guests were frustrated when their rooms were not ready at the designated check in time. I was also disappointed to learn guests found duplicate charges on their credit cards for their stay. Given this and our overall experience with the staff, I would not recommend Wildwood for your next stay or event.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfrenchhoari, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
My sincere apologies, our intention is never dissapointing a guest when they are expecting great service.
Our check in time is 4:00pm and over 90% of our guests checked in that day prior to that time. I am so sorry your guests had any wait at all. I also viewed any billing for that day and did not view any issues. I would be more than happy to personally speak to the guest you are addressing.
I was present in the hotel and I do know the lobby was extremely busy that day, as we strive to exceed our guests expectations I invite you to contact myself and revisit the hotel in the near future as our guest. Thank you always for taking the time to give us your comments.
Sincerely
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here and also at the Hilton across the street several days each over business this fall. Between the two, I prefer the Wildwood because of the free mini happy hour during the week, and also because of the large rooms and free shuttle. It's also nice to have the restaurant onsite (although not my favorite). Be sure to ask for a room with a bathtub if you need one, the default is shower only. The walls are also paper thin so you will be able to hear the guests next to you...tv, shower, phone conversations. Luckily for the wildwood, most of their customers are on business (alone, quieter than familiies) so it wasn't a huge problem. Pool area was nice although my daughter said the chlorine burned her eyes, I guess they were adding it at 9 am while she was swimming. My one complaint - I wish they would change from firefox browser to ie. nobody in the business world uses firefox, which won't let you login to outlook or print from it. overall though I willl continue staying here for business trips as it is very clean and the staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank real_foodie901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfrenchhoari, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write a review. We listen to our customers concerns and needs, we are currently addressing the change to our desktop in our business center. Internet explorer was available from the start tab but we will get that changed so it is an icon on the desktop.
Please the next time you stay with us at the Wildwood Lodge, ask for me personally and I will make your accomodations for you. Once again our sincere thanks for helping us exceed all of our guests expectations.

The Management and staff of the Wildwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very clean hotel, outstanding staff. They don't advertise the continental breakfast, which goes thru 9 AM with coffee, fruit and bars, etc. Very friendly, very clean. Pretty average pool. Got a bit loud at night if you are poolside. Janessa was an outstanding contact for our trip

Room Tip: Don't stay poolside if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlichts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was super quiet with very large, comfortable rooms with Aveda products. The attached restaurant (The Machine Shed) serves a terrific breakfast. My sister lives in nearby Woodbury, so we travel to this area often. We will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovedhappylimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elmo
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Paul-Woodbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn St. Paul Woodbury
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo
Address: 8511 Hudson Blvd N, Lake Elmo, MN 55042-8702 (Formerly Wildwood Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lake Elmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Elmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay just 10 minutes from downtown St. Paul at the Holiday Inn and Suites - St. Paul, Lake Elmo. Recently renovated, this property offers a welcoming decor and modern furnishings. Located conveniently close to downtown St. Paul, we are within minutes to the 3M Headquarters, Bremer Financial, Andersen Windows, Target, and Hartford Insurance/Woodbury Financial. We are also close to great shopping and dining in Woodbury, and the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. Enjoy our amenities such a complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property, our 24-hour business center, new redesigned fitness center, large indoor pool and spa, and the award winning Machine Shed Restaurant. Our elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites are perfect for the busy business traveler or a family traveling to the St.Paul/Minneapolis area. With over 6,000 square feet of event space, Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Elmo offers the perfect space for corporate events, business meetings, weddings, and various social gatherings. Our unique ballroom, The Pavilion at Lake Elmo, provides guests luxury and comfort with its vaulted ceilings, large windows and wooden beams. Our professional event planning staff and full service catering team are here to make each event a memorable experience. Traveling frequently with Holiday Inn? Ask to sign up for IHG Rewards on your next visit to earn points for your travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Lake Elmo
Wildwood Hotel Lake Elmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing