We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best in Lake City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rustic

Rustic
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Lake City
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Midwest
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still the best in Lake City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just returned from Florida.. and were anxious to visit Rustic again... it opened for the season Memorial Weekend. We were not disappointed! Everyone was treated to some FREE Birthday treats...since Margo (Co-proprietor) was celebrating her birthday. We also had the Chicken Croissant sandwich, which has to be the best in the country...but as mentioned before, Rustic is much more than a coffee/sandwich/bakery shop.. it is a place to meet new and old friends...and celebrate life! (p.s.keep in mind they are only open Fri, Sat. & Sun)..Additionally... where can you get a great cup of coffee for $1...with refills?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPr946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mn
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Great customer service = Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were on a fall drive and went through Lake City, MN last weekend. We wanted to stop for a quick meal but wanted it to be good food. Read a couple reviews of this restaurant and decided to give it a try. We are extremely glad we did. The workers (one of them was probably the owner) at the restaurant were beyond friendly and helpful (you could tell they loved what they do) - which gave this restaurant a warm, homey feeling. We had a party of 3 adults and 3 kids. They brought out a small pitcher and cups for the kids (a big hit) and since it was close to closing gave us some complimentary salad. They checked on us often as well - and brought out chocolates at the end of the meal. We had 4 different sandwiches, the complimentary salad, and 2 cookies and loved all of them.

It was a great experience all around and they only sad part is that we will have to wait until they open next spring to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Rustic is a "seasonal" restaurant. It offers a variety of sweets, sandwiches and salads. Stop in and check out the new remodel. Currently open Fridays and Saturdays to October 5, 2013. This is a new schedule as it was only open from Memorial Day through Labor Day in previous years.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank klm55041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you visit Lake City in the summer on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday and DON'T eat at the Rustic than you have truly missed out on a great experience. The food is hands down the best in town. The ambiance and staff are just as sweet and amazing as the food! You can tell the employees and owner take pride in what they do and have an 'I want to be here' attitude. Make sure you make it a point to stop in even to get some cookies to go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjie_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem not to be missed in Lake City.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rustic is a must do, must see, must taste restaurant! Fantastic salads and sandwiches (hot and cold), delicious soups and amazing desserts. (The cheesecakes are to die for!) But beyond the food, what makes it extraordinary? The owner, Margo Yotter, and her staff. They are very friendly and helpful while also being as generous with their serving portions as they are with their community tips and information for those new to the area. Margo knows practically everyone in town and is quick to make introductions so everyone feels connected and comfortable in the company of others. We own and operate a small B & B in town and we point all our guests to Rustic if they are going to stay around for a bit. Try it yourself. See if you don't feel a part of our community as quickly as you feel stuffed from a scrumptious meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic also viewed

 

Been to Rustic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing