We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willows on the River
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
VAN HORNE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place is fantastic”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This was the last place we stayed on our "whim" trip. We loved this place. All the condos face the lake and the views are spectacular. The rooms were very clean. We were fortuante to have a washer and dryer in our condo. We had a full kitchen including a dishwasher! The room service was good, but the view from the dining deck was appealing. The food was good and the service was prompt. We will definately make arrangements to stay here again. We loved it so much we stayed two nights. For the price you just can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over40andoutforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
9
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We LOVE this place. It is the PERFECT romantic place for privacy, relaxing, quietness. We stay as a couple but took our grand-kids this week and got the 2 bedroom suite and it worked out perfect. They had the upstairs loft and we enjoyed privacy in the main area. I could get a bag of books and stay there for a week and never leave the Willows. The rooms are peaceful, the scenery if breathtaking, and I hate to leave. It is addicting and I can't wait to go back for the fall experience. The condo's have everything you need. The restaurant is great also. You can order and have room service if you want privacy or enjoy dining in the restaurant or on the deck.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JEH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This place is a best kept secret, beautiful view and I must say the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Its a condo so you can bring your own food and beverages, full size fridge and stove. The staff was so help and friendly, this will be my new favorite get away place. My husband and I loved it

Room Tip: I think all face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EagleWatching2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Willows on the River was a great central location for our golf weekend. We play three great courses in three days and we liked the flexibility that the condo offered. The staff was wonderful; we received an email confirmation, got phone call instructions on a late check-in time and were always greeted by courteous staff.
The main level of the two-bedroom condo was ideal for prepping meals, lounging, napping and catching Sportscenter. We sprung extra to stay here to stay close to golf, saving on meals and it was worth it!
My only concern was the sleeping arrangements. The website boasts sleeping for 8 but I would only suggest that for family. For the four amigos, it was one in each room and one each on sofa sleepers. In all fairness, not bad; however maybe not what I had hoped for the price. This is a great fit for families, friends and getaways with significant others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Language_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Took the wife here for one night in February for her birthday. Very nice room, comfy bed, fully stocked kitchen and relaxing view. Went to the bar/restaurant for a late drink, 9:00pm on a Saturday in February in Minnesota usually means you're about to close the place. And that was pretty much what happened. Kids working there looked anxious to go home and I really didn't blame them. We probably would've had one more drink but really didn't mind. Never got around to using the pool/spa but will do that on our next visit, in the summer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milesb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

A group of six women spent a night at the Willows in late September. It was perfect for our needs. Our unit had two bedrooms, a loft area with a sleeper sofa and a living room with a sleeper sofa. There was a good-sized kitchen and there were two bathrooms.

The view was lovely, the unit was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed listening to the waves of Lake Pepin lapping at the shore, visiting around the fireplace in the livingroom, and walking along the lakeshore.

We had dinner at the restaurant on property. While our server was a bit less than cordial to begin with, she came around, provided very good service and we enjoyed a fabulous meal!

  • Liked — Classy accommodations at an affordable rate. Perfect arrangement for our group.
  • Disliked — Not a thing!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2008

This has got to be the best spot on Lake Pepin.
Our suite looked out over the Lake with nothing in between.
This is only about an hour from St.Paul and about 1/2 tank of gas, its so beautiful and you dont have to fly to get there.
Dont forget your binoculars, and now thay have a riverboat to ride on. Simply wonderful, we plan to return!

  • Liked — The beautiful view of Lake Pepin
  • Disliked — No swimming beach
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank teardroprob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
14.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
17.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
15.2 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
15.0 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willows on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows on the River

Property: Willows on the River
Address: 100 Central Point Rd, Lake City, MN 55041-3248
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lake City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willows on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Willows on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows On The River Hotel Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing