We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chickadee Cottage Cafe

Chickadee Cottage Cafe
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chickadee Cottage Cafe, Lake City, Mn On the Great River Road
Iowa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Funny this café doesn’t show up on Google searches. Found them via tour book. Small and cozy, instantly friendly and inviting. Many Christian based decorations and items for sale in small gift shop, so I felt right at home. Seating area is open and airy with some tables in a glass enclosed extension. Attentive service, but not pushy. Menu has a fair selection of items and we all found a choice. Portions are probably slightly larger than I expected and I departed well served. Some wine and beer. Beer selection is unremarkable but they have Champaign drinks reasonably priced that are lovely. Wife commented this is a place she would meet her friends, if we lived in Lake City. They close at 02:00 pm, so be advised, and come early. Smiles all around.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    27
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a great way to start your day! This restaurant is like eating in your best friend's kitchen. The food was great and the staff was friendly. You could tell that it was also a favorite place of the locals. Chickadee Cottage has created new ways of fixing the old standards. The Special Scrambled eggs are delicious and there is always a wonderful coffee cake of the day. Don't forget about their carmel rolls either. It's nice to find a restaurant that is not part of a chain and that is clean, bright and cheerful with great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandi and Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“coffee cake of the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

what a way to start a day. Great food, especially the hash browns, and bacon and a cute gift shop, too! The cottage atmosphere and service were a delight!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank janetn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute but disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a very cute restaurant! They have a wonderful parmesan salad dressing, but the quiche was not very good. The crust was squishy, like it had been warmed in the microwave and the filling was rubbery. One of the worst quiches i have ever had. We also had a couple ants crawl across our table. The waitress was nice and friendly. I would definitely get something else if i went back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clrwltrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a good place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The family style breakfast served on Sundays is excellent. We have brought many visitors to the Chickadee for the Sunday breakfast and they have always enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mnnorske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chickadee Cottage Cafe also viewed

 
Lake City, MN
Lake City, MN
 

Been to Chickadee Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing