We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab rural east devon b&b”
Review of West Colwell Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Offwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Colwell Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Offwell B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fab rural east devon b&b”
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Lovely little b&b in east devon.
Hubbie and I stayed in Captains room, an abs fab room only gripes with the room, a little close to the breakfast room and owners quarters for my liking, takes me a while to relax anywhere new especially if i think folks can hear me pottering about, but thats prob just me. Also rooms do have great showers, but unfortunatly no bath. Great points rooms have their own decking area outside for supper al fresco and bbq's. The bed, I have to say is the comfiest i've ever been in. Decor and furnishings top notch. Oh and loved the welcome tea on arrival with homemade cake. Owners very helpful in advising on the local area and whats going on and I love the fact that you can have brekkie when you want (we had a long journey down and a next day breakfast of 9:30 was much appreciated) breakfast options fresh fruit salad, porridge, granola, cereals, american options, full english (bacon, hash brown, eggs, mushrooms) oh and toast from homemade bread finishes things off a treat.
All in all go there, great place :)

  • Liked — the bed and being able to have breakfast at a time to suit!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from our second short break at West Colwell Farm. Ideally located for exploration of East Devon and the Jurassic Coast, this peaceful place can be recommended for many reasons apart from just where is happens to be. Located close to the village of Offwell near Honiton (signposted from the A35 road) the Farm is convenient for road transport to other areas within the region and far enough from busy thoroughfares without being remote.

Proprietors Frank and Carol Hayes will give the visitor a warm welcome with freshly made tea or coffee. The en suite rooms are in what is a tastefully converted outbuilding adjacent to the main farmhouse and just a few steps from the car park. Descriptive directions to the farm are provided and are easy to follow. We have stayed in the “Farmer” and “Captain” rooms (names after some 1920s working horses) and both are decorated to a high standard and are faultlessly clean and are inspected daily. The big shower is great for the larger person (or two!). Tea and coffee facilities are available in the rooms. A visit to the Farm’s website will give more details of the accommodation.

Bed and breakfast are provided and a menu is provided to suite most tastes. Frank’s fine cooking must be mentioned here. Local restaurants are checked out and a recommended list provided together with local countryside walks and details of other places of interest. A visit to nearby Joshua’s is a must if you like traditional and natural foods.

Suitable for couples it should be remembered that this is a working farm with a handful of lovely Devon Ruby cattle. I recommend the purchase of some meat at the end of any stay – the finest steak I have ever eaten.

If you need a relaxing break away from it all then this is the place to stay. The AA rating is richly deserved. And this is a better alternative to the out of town hotel chains for the same price.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Southendian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2006

We stayed at West Colwell Farm in Jan 2005. We specifically wanted to stay in the Wilmington/Offwell area as we were looking to relocate here.

I found West Colwell Farm on the web [----] and immediately liked the look of it.

We arrived late afternoon to a warm welcome from Frank and Carol, the owners. I was starting to come down with a cold and Carol immediately made afternoon tea for us in the lovely dining area which had large patio doors overlooking the beautiful East Devon countryside.

We had booked 'Farmer' which is a lovely cosy room with patio doors onto its own private terrace, as it was January we didn't bother with this much but its a wonderful addition for those visiting in the summer months!

Our room was large with a lovely comfortable bed. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean and had good quality furniture and fittings throughout. What we loved best was the warm and homely feeling you got when you stepped in the room which had been thoughtfully designed and furnished by Frank and Carol.

The guest accomodation are all away from the main house, our room had its own entrance and we were given a key which was great as we could come and go as we pleased.

We both agreed that this was the best hotel/B&B/accomodation we had ever stayed in and came away completely relaxed from our visit.

We thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank z1ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2006

We visited West Colwell Farm last Janurary for a romantic weekend away and got just that.
The rooms are across a cobbled courtyard from the main farm in what must be a converted barn or stable, so lovely and private. You walk into a huge hallway that is used as a dining room in the winter - when we were there the woodburning stove was burning away and it felt very cozy.
Our room was lovely and clean with a big comfy king size bed with loads of cushions, a seating area and steps to a wardrobe and table with tea/coffee facilities. There is a nautical theme, with shells and pictures of boats, lovely features dotted around. There were books and magazines on the local area which we thought was a nice touch. No sooner had we settled in were we offered complementery drinks (my fiancee jumped at the chance of a glass of wine - he got practically a goldfish bowl full!) - The owners couldn't have been more helpful, they gave us fantastic advice on where to eat/go and offered to make reservations on our behalf.
The bathroom was spacious and the shower was divine, with lots of fluffy towels and bathrobes hanging over the heated towel rail.
In daylight we really got to appreciate how beautiful the setting was, the view was stunning, and the patio doors led out onto our own terrace with patio set and BBQ. It had hanging baskets and borders that I assume are planted up in the summer and would look even prettier. It is so peaceful here, and only 15 mins max from the lovely devon coast. I would reccomend anyone to go here if they wanted a weekend wawy somewhere, and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Colwell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Colwell Farm

Property: West Colwell Farm
Address: Offwell, Honiton EX14 9SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Offwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Offwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing