We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home What More Could Any One Ask”
Review of The Cottage Marsh

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Marsh
Ranked #1 of 1 Marsh B&B and Inns
Porth Newquay
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from Home What More Could Any One Ask”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We travel about quite a lot, and have been very lucky this year, we have found yet another "Gem" in The Cottage,Marsh, Honiton, Devon.
I bought a flight in a Tiger Moth at Dunkeswell for my husbands 70th birthday, so we booked a couple of nights at The Cottage; we were not disappointed, Michele met us at the gate, showed us our room, and said come to the dining room when you are ready and I will make you a pot of tea,it was very welcome after our tiring journey.
We slept in our beautiful clean, comfortable, ensuite room, with lots of little extras to make it special. The following morning we had a huge breakfast,( and ,yes we were asked if we wanted more )!! thank you Chris, it set us up for the day, and thank you Michele for the lovely fresh eggs from your well looked after hens.
Another friend you will make is Rocky, Micheles rescue dog, he will be your friend for life for a tickle and a biscuit; if you are not too keen on dogs, he knows his place, and does not intrude; personally, I could have made off with him !!
All bedrooms are suitable for disabled guests (no steps) but if you need extra help, ask for room 4, it has a wet room and hand rails, these wonderful hosts have thought of everything.What are you waiting for, book now or lose out on a great experiance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
17
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

cottage marsh , really nice welcome, great breakfast and good food in the pub within walking distance

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Lovely place, the owners couldn't have been more accommodating. Breakfast was hot and delicious and the room was warm and comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to use the Cottage again and will be recommending it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith-n-Jakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We recently had the pleasure of staying here for a couple of nights after reading the positive reviews on TA (ignore the one bad review which is just laughable). Lovely comfy room and also nice and warm despite the freezing temperatures outside. Excellent cooked breakfast as well. Michele & Chris, the owners, are very welcoming and we were treated like friends rather than guests. Would love to come here in warmer weather and take advantage of sitting ouside on the patio! Would have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crayfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Nestled on the Devonshire - Somerset border, The Cottage B&B at Marsh is a favourite with 3 generations of my family. We have stayed there many times and can honestly say that for quality, friendliness and value for money there are none better.

The rooms are elegantly decorated, clean and comfortable. A tea or coffee and a good chat are part of the booking-in process. Michelle and Chris have never failed to provide a first rate service and, on occassion, have given assistance "above and beyond the call of duty". A delicious meal may be taken at the very hospitable Flintlock Inn; just a short walk up the quiet the village high street.

In the morning, a breakfast of local produce and fresh eggs is served; enough to set anyone up for a day of onward travelling, antique hunting in Honiton or exploring the local countryside. In the afternoons cream teas are available.

As an Army Officer and now as a businessman and parent, I have stayed in many, many places but The Cottage at Marsh is a place we always look forward to staying and will do so for many years to come.

The White family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChalkyXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Having just come home from a wonderful week spent at the Cottage in Marsh, we would like to say it was truly a wonderful place to stay. Michele and Chris very friendly and welcoming. We had a double room with a very comfortable bed. An ideal place to stay to tour around Devon, somerset and Dorset. Thank You again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fralar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We have stayed at the cottage Marsh twice now having found the name on the Devonshire Tourist board website. We arrived in the evening the first time and was greeted with open arms, like old friends. Michelle had booked us in at the pub for an evening meal. It was as she described it on the phone, excellent, 2nd to none!. We have a lovely nights sleep in the double room, very nicely decorated and the wet room was great too, with the nice touches like shower gel, fluffy towels etc. The full english breakfast was served at a time that suited us for our onward journey and we even bought some of Michelle's hen's eggs. Which were delicious too!. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked again directly for our second visit. My parents live in West Cornwall and we live in Essex so this is a conveniently located stop over. The price is good too compared to the local Travelodge/Travellin in the area. Good value for the great hospitality and great food. Rocky the dog was so cute, and as welcoming as Chris and Michelle. We have recommended the Cottage to all of our family visiting Cornwall as well as leaving the Cottage cards at my Parents for anyone travelling towards Essex.

Keep up the good work Chris and Michelle, we will be back.
Maria and Craig McPherson-Davis.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doublebarrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage Marsh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Marsh

Property: The Cottage Marsh
Address: The Cottage On the Devon and Somerset Border, Halfway Between the Towns of Honiton and Ilminster on the Main A303 Route, Marsh EX14 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Marsh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Marsh 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cottage Marsh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing