We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hard act to follow!”
Review of Yellingham Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Payhembury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellingham Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Payhembury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hard act to follow!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed with Janet and Ed at Yellingham Farm for only 2 nights, wish it had been longer! If you can manage the narrow Devon lanes (and Janet gives you brilliant directions), then it's so worth it..... We felt welcome from the moment we arrived - Janet rushes around like a human dynamo making sure everyone is content and comfortable, but always has time to chat and offer advice. Ed's breakfasts are wondrous, everything is locally sourced; breakfast is taken around a large dining table, where everyone seems to get on so well. This will be the benchmark for any further B & B-ing that we do, and is a hard act to follow! The highlight was the walk around the farm with the 6 dogs rushing ahead of us. Directions are given for good local pubs for supper in the evening, and the farm is well situated for getting around East Devon and beyond.

Room Tip: We had the Cow Shippon double room (which was perfectly comfortable), but had a chance to see the Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
35
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but it was well worth getting there down those narrow lanes. It's a farm, but not scarily so! Perfect hospitality, lovely Lily and the other dogs, and delicious breakfast. Fab. And great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGaryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We cannot recommend this place highly enough! We have been fortunate enough to stay in some top hotels arond the world and have been spoilt by luxury and excellent customer service but Janet matched any stay we have ever had. Staying at Yellingham Farm absolutely made our trip to Devon and we will definitely be returning. It is honestly like home from home and the attention to detail is fantastic. The rooms are immaculate and well thought through and have everything you could need for a very comfortable stay. Janet really made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. The homemade cake on arrival was delicious but the breakfast the next morning was even better. What a choice! We loved the fact that everything was locally sourced or made on the farm and we could definitely taste the difference. We were so glad we were there 2 nights so we could have breakfast twice! In addition to the lovely bedrooms there is a lounge and dining room for use by guests. We were lucky that we visited on a sunny weekend but we can also imagaine how cosy it would be in winter with the fire roaring. Other unique selling points for the farm are the morning wake up call by the cockerel and being greeted for breakfast by Lily the adorable jack russell puppy! You must go and stay here. We feel like we have missed out by not having found it sooner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEATH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

stayed just the 1 night as needed to be in the area early the following morning. welcomed by Janet & her wonderful gang of sheepdogs & jack russels & shown to our beautiful room. so peaceful at night we slept brilliantly. served a fantastic breakfast by Ed & were sorry we had to rush away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATEBEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was the third time this year we have stayed at Yellingham Farm and going back again in September.

This is the most relaxing B & B and the most interesting, There is always some adventure happening on the Farm. Janet and Ted make you feel so welcome and the extras that are provided are smashing.
Ted cooks a fantastic breakfast which sets you up for the day. You must try the breakfast trifle!

The farm is a working farm with sheep, chickens, ducks and , working dogs and one in training ( ok she needs more training but she is only 6 months) - the farm is in unspoilt countryside with idealic views.

Each afternoon when you get back after a day out there was always a welcome pot of tea and afternoon cakes made. Even when we got back at 7.00 ish we were welcomed with this - although we never expected it.

The bedroom , lounge and breakfast room are all kept spotless.

You will be hard to find such a welcoming , friendly , top notch B& B down in Devon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

After coming off a farm in Australia we were getting very home sick and decided to do a farm stay. Was greeted by Janet and served a delicious afternoon tea of meringues with clotted cream and strawberries. Room was very large and comfy and as a bonus we also had access to a large lounge and dining area. Breakfast was delicious and Janet was a great host. Had dinner at the Five Bells Pub and loved it, everything was home cooked! If you want to stay on a real working farm then I definitley recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Having driven from London the night before and staying in Exeter, we escaped to the country and what an escape it was! We programmed the sat nav with the post code and headed off from Exeter about 20 miles away. We thought the sat nav had malfunctioned when we were heading down the tightest country lanes imaginable and then we saw the sign for Yellingham!

We were greeted by Ed who welcomed us with a pot of tea and a plate of gorgeous home-baked cake! Having shown us our room and introduced us to their six dogs, we were told that there were no real restrictions on walking about the farm! Off we went with the six dogs in tow who ran after sticks and toys as if they were our own dogs! A special mention for Lily, the smallest and feistiest of the lot!

Nothing was a problem and Janet even rang the local pub to see if they could fit us in for dinner.

The house is spotless and the beds extremely comfortable! It really is an escape from a busy life to a place where life suddenly slows down to a pace reminiscent of past times. We only spent one night....but we wished we could have spent more. That was even before breakfast which was nothing short of outstanding. Again, nothing was a problem and everything from eggs to kippers were on the menu.

I toyed with the idea of not putting up a review on the basis that I don't want others to find this diamond in the haystack (pardon the pun)! However, we were fortunate to find such an amazing place with the nicest people one could hope to meet and something like that needs to be shared. I look forward to returning time and time again!

Room Tip: Bookm in good time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payhembury
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellingham Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellingham Farm

Property: Yellingham Farm
Address: Payhembury EX14 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Payhembury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Payhembury
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellingham Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing