We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Park Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place, I'm so fussy about where I stay, but the finish and attention to detail was fab. Fantastic staff, so friendly and helpful . Amazing breakfast, the eggs benedict was to die for, my husband had the full English and said the sausage was very good. Would love to go again for a longer stay and enjoy the gardens and pizza oven.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear lindsay P,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I really am so proud to be part of the team that continues to deliver marvellous memories for our guests, from the bricks and mortar that make the building to the team members that create the atmosphere. Combine that we the food and Deer Park truly is an experience.

Thank you once again for your review, I will ensure the team all receive the recognition that they deserve.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    120
    28
    14
    16
See reviews for
168
280
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I had a text from my Significant other Monday morning to say we were booked in here that same night-SURPRISE! When we arrived we were offered an upgrade as a superior room was available for an extra few pounds and after seeing it we didn't even bother to look at the room that had been originally booked. Overlooking the beautiful garden the room was huge with a wonderfully comfortable bed ( the duvet could have been thinner or just a sheet would have done as it was so hot) the window had window seats which was a brilliant vantage point for looking at the stars in the night and watching the squirrels and bunnies in the morning.
The walks around the river are lovely and as we came back up the drive we had to try the wooden swing ( built for two) which hangs off a large tree and further along a double hammock.
The food , staff and service were faultless which makes this hotel a definite ' return to' !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear SandieDevon,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I was very pleased indeed to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you wished to share these moments with the Trip Advisor community!

Yes our Superior Bedrooms are rather smashing, Ill pass your comments on to our Head Housekeeper as now that it looks like summer is finally here we may well need to look at lighter bedding.

I am glad you found our swinging seat as this is really located in a very romantic spot. I am sure your Significant other has earned some brownie points for this stay!

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praze-An-Beeble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Firstly may I put anyones mind at rest about the quality of the driveway fully surfaced in tarmacadam from start to finish ,we were greeted at reception and shown to our room which was in the garden annex next to the hotel ,it was large, airy and very well decorated and the bed was enormous all the staff were most helpful and polite,the breakfast was excellent I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, the grounds are stunning with a lovely walk by the river otter,the only downside was the price of drinks plus no draft beer but all hotels seem to be expensive for alcohol

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Terry P,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed one of our brand spanking new Garden rooms, recently refurbished and having £600k spent on them. The drive its self was completed in two stages one in April 2013 and the second stage in October 2013 and the difference it has made is outstanding, long distant are the memories of the previous drive.

I personally enjoy the River Otter walk daily with my dog Storm and I never grow tired of the views.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here a number of years ago, and was not overly impressed. However, things seem to have changed over recent years and although still very traditional, this is a nice place to stay.
The welcome is very good and lounge areas in the main area of the hotel nice to be able to sit and relax (or work!). The bedroom I stayed in was ok, it was called Lily, nothing exceptional, but ok. The views are nice to sit and look out over the hills.
The team working here were very friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was unfortunately a let-down. Firstly I couldn't find the breakfast room, but this was quickly sorted, but then after standing around for a number of minutes, waiting for someone to turn up to say where to sit etc (as it wasn't clear what table was for what room), I left. The food does look nice and well set out, but I just didn't get to sit down and try any of it, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear marct0603,

Thank you for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed some of the improvements made over the last 18 months, having spent over £1.5million a lot has been accomplished with more on the way, including the full refurbishment of 11 of our main house bedrooms which is provisionally booked for the new year. until then we are continuing with our soft furnishing refurbishment.

It was very disappointing to read that you didn't get to enjoy our splendid breakfast and have spoken to our Food & Beverage Manager regarding this, both myself and him have given our teams a little further training to ensure that this mistake does not happen again.

Please accept my most sincere apologies and do contact me directly when you are looking to stay with us here again as I would very much like the opportunity to handle your booking personally.

Many thanks

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed just one night as wedding guests and cannot fault the staff or accommodation. The country house itself is beautiful. We stayed in one of the Garden House rooms - Sycamore - and it was perfect. Plenty of room for a family of four - a huge master bed, a double sofa bed and a single folding bed meant there were no arguments over who was sleeping where. Tastefully decorated and a lovely clean bathroom with a great shower. All the staff were excellent - real eye contact and actual listening = great service. The food was fantastic and the wedding was amazing. Would love to return ... soon ... very soon.

Room Tip: If you like 'shabby chic' go for a Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Justine S,

Thank you so much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

We really are the perfect venue for a wedding and it is a pleasure to receive great feedback from the Bride & Grooms but also from their guests, such as yourself.

Sycamore is a spiffing family room, lots of room overlooking our walled garden and with fab monsoon shower heads!!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you once again.

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A stunning Country House Hotel set in a stunning location. All the staff were very attentive. The room was very comfortable with every attention to detail. The breakfast was excellent and made more so by Darrel and Tim who made us feel welcome. We wish we could have stayed longer. There was one slight concern - dogs are allowed in the Breakfast Room which we feel is inappropriate.

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are set away from the main building requiring a walk to the hotel for meals etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear LandB2014,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here with us as well as our outstanding service and food. I will ensure Darryl and Tim get a big thank you on your behalf.

We are an extremely dog friendly hotel here and as such have many dogs visiting us. We have one main rule to where dogs are not allowed, which is in the main restaurant but should their owners wish their dogs to join them for dinner we will allow them to eat in the conservatory resturant instead. Similarly should anyone not wish to eat in the conservatory for breakfast due to dogs being allowed in there we will of course set up a table in the restaurant for them.
We feel this is the fairest way for both our dog owners and our non dog owners.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very pleasant and attentive staff, food was excellent breakfast was well presented and hot,comfortable room, bed to die for. Set in stunning grounds. We all had a thoroughly good time and hope to return again later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear jeanette c,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

Simply to the point, what more do you ask form a hotel than comfy beds, excellent food, attentive staff and a setting to die for!

Thank you once again, I will ensure I pass you thanks across to the whole team.

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckerell
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
7.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
11.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Country House Hotel

Property: Deer Park Country House Hotel
Address: Weston | Honiton, Buckerell, Honiton EX14 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Buckerell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deer Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Devon...Perfectly Positioned Hotels in HonitonThis 18th Century Georgian country house is one of few hotels in Devon situated within 80 acres of unspoilt countryside. Elegant interiors represent everything you would expect from a quintessentially English country house hotel with classic furnishings and grand paintings.From the moment you arrive up the mile long drive you’ll find that everything, from the attentive service and accommodation to the exquisite food and family friendly atmosphere, is created to make you feel right at home at one of the most charming Devon hotels.Countryside Devon Wedding VenuesWith stunning grounds, classic interiors and attention to detail, the Deer Park offers one of the most romantic wedding venues in Devon. Accommodating up to 50 wedding guests in the main house, or up to 130 wedding guests in the marquee, this historic house offers a venue perfect for all types of wedding celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Deer Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing