We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Tumbling Weir Hotel(Ottery St. Mary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park 'n' Lodge(Westcott)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
579
138
35
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
138
35
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalled gardenbeautiful hotelthe main housewonderful weddingwedding breakfastwedding venuebeautiful groundshis teamcountry housebeautiful roomlog firepizza ovenfood was fantasticstayed longerwedding receptionsunday lunchthank you so much
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 783 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My partner took me here in April and proposed. We will be returning in October to celebrate our 3rd year anniversary. Such fond memories of this hotel and its where we'd like to have our wedding! Its fantastic, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful! Absolutely fantastic dinner and so warm and welcoming, young couple friendly and amazing views to wake up to! Thank you all so much!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fern T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are a group of friends who meet twice a year. September 2013 re-union was spent at Deer Park Country House Hotel.

Without exception, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, made possible by the friendliness and careful attention to detail by every member of staff.
The food was delicious and we were able to view the walled garden which was full of organic produce for use in the hotel. We admired the beautiful gardens surrounding the hotel including the recent addition of the Italian Garden.
We were boosted by the tremendous enthusiasm shown by Management & Staff - especially with regard to how Deer Park is visualized to develop over the coming years. It is already a stunning venue.
Our grateful thanks go to all concerned in providing us with such a happy break

Room Tip: All rooms are acceptable
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear DHT2013,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you stay here with us, I was so glad to read that this re-union went well!

We are extremely lucky here at the Deer Park having such a great team as we do, that mixes in with the truly unique location as well as our values such as being eco-friendly as possible by means of growing our own food for the kitchen.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we have some great deals coming up for January & February, please feel free to email me directly when you next plan to visit as I would love to have the opportunity to personally handle your reservation.

Once again thank you, I will pass your comments on to the whole team.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived having had an early start to our day and needing a rest and hoping for a soak in the bath.
Hmm...whilst the bedroom itself was well appointed and comfortable (the carpet had the usual selection of odd stains that seems to come with all hotel rooms) the bathroom looked like something from the land that time forgot.
The dressing area also came from a similar era and I'm wondering if the carpet in that part of the room has been vacuumed since then given the volume of hair on it.
The breakfast was good and the staff were welcoming and helpful.
The location was delightful although we were glad not to have arrived or be leaving in the dark.
All in all the room was not worth the hefty £130 price tag and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navyclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wonderful stay. Great bed. Great bathroom. Great paintings.Tasty and refreshing breakfast. Great value for money. Have a look at the kitchen garden. I would like to have stayed longer. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very hospitable staff who were very helpful in fixing up a booking mistake made by myself.
Room was clean but at the very top of a very narrow second staircase.The bed was way too soft but room clean and comfortable.
Meals were good and the main rooms were very splendid in a tired sort of way. The grounds were stunning but not sure how you could ever putt on the rough old putting green.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors. You need climbing equipment for the top ones
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jampro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews