We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome awaits”
other travelers have booked this property
Godford Farm  Owl Hayes Nr Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lyme Regis, Exeter, Taunton, Tiverton, Honiton,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Godford Farm  Owl Hayes Nr Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lyme Regis, Exeter, Taunton, Tiverton, Honiton,
Sitting room with french doors to patio and sunny garden.  Ideal BBQ suppers. Dining area - high chair available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Godford Farm  Owl Hayes Nr Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lyme Regis, Exeter, Taunton, Tiverton, Honiton,
Sitting room with french doors to patio and sunny garden.  Ideal BBQ suppers.
Dining area - high chair available
Double Room
Twin room = 2 single beds
Games Barn - table tennis, pool and bar skittles
Sunny patio for outside eating and relaxation.  Floral gardens.
North side of cottages.  Plenty of parking in front of cottages.  All size vehicles welcome
Owl Hayes - famous Honiton pottery name plate.
primroses on side of Buckerell Nap - wellies & camera  to enjoy amazing views of the valley belo
Bluebells on hedgerows and views across valley to the farm
Godford farm is in centre of pic - Blackdown Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
Bathrooms
Hayrack used as room divider, cottages were origionally stables in the 1700's.  Historic farm.
Wellies are everywhere on a farm! and very useful!  Sweet smelling roses.
Reference books for circular walks and places of interest
sunny gardens and orchard
Floral gardens and patio area
A real working farm with young animals for the dairy herd.  Easthill pedigree prefix.
Optional farmhouse breakfasts available 24hrs notice treat yourself to a morning off!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Awliscombe, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SG333333
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm welcome awaits”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A very warm welcome from Sally Lawrence and her family who also run the farm. Watch the calves being fed and the cows milked. A compact cottage with everything you'll need (including loo roll and dishwasher powder!). We took our 2 year old who loved the pedal cars, slide, play house complete with its own kitchen but most of all the animals. Extremely good value for money and don't forget to order Sally's delicious cooked breakfasts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you for your nice comments - so pleased that you all had a good holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patricia...
San Bernardino, California
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were coming home to visit family after 15 years and wanted our own accommodations. When we opened the door, it was like walking into a story book. Everything was perfect and Sally made sure that we had everything we needed. The views and the tranquility of the farm were wonderful. We had forgotten how beautiful Devon was, after coming from California, this was a much needed retreat. Sally made us feel as if we were part of the family, and the welcome basket was great, good bacon, bread, eggs, everything we needed for a good old English breakfast, and more. We wish we had extended our stay, we will return again. Thank you, Sally and Richard for your kindness.

Rodger & Patsy Sexton

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: didnt find anythin we did not like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
It was a pleasure having you here to stay, looking forward to the next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy comfortable cottage”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Me, my husband and one or both of my grown up daughters sleeping over at times we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Otter Holt. The warm welcome we received on arrival, the the thoughtful welcome groceries , the concern that we were warm enough all added to our enjoyment of the well equipped, beautifully appointed cottage. With the town of Honiton only 5 minutes away, the beaches of Sidnouth and Exmouth within easy reach and the city of Exeter 30 minutes away Otter Holt provided us with an excellent base for the week.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2016
It was lovely meeting you all and pleased you had a great time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“delightful rural cottage”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed here for a couple of weeks and loved the area which we explored by foot and by car. The cottage was a perfect base, a very warm and cosy place to be. The cottage was very well equipped throughout and very comfortable. The hosts, Sally and Richard, made us feel very welcome so we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The garden is a little gem too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendliness of the hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Thank you Peter, we enjoyed having you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely farm holiday base in East Devon”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed in August with family inc. 2 children (9 and 11).Lovely welcome by Sally on arrival.Cottage has everything family requires for summer holiday.Play barn handy for energetic children and Richard was more than happy to facilitate our daughter to feed newly born calves in the mornings. Sally goes out of her way to accommodate visitors and made our family stay special .
Perfect location for accessing the delights of East Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaDH201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect setting to stay for our wedding”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had the pleasure of staying at Godford Farm the week leading up to and the weekend of our wedding. The Farm was the perfect location to travel to and from our wedding venue in Egland and our home in Honiton. Sally made us feel very welcome and accommodating considering there were a lot of people and cars coming and going on the day itself! The cottages were perfect, everything we needed was there including a lovely food hamper on arrival full of fresh goodies! Fantastic accommodation and the perfect haven during a very stressful and busy week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennymabl...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location but disappointing cottage”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I visited this cottage with a friend for a 3 night walking holiday. Owl Hayes is ideally situated for exploring the south Devon coast. It's a short drive from Sidmouth and the South West Coastal Path. Even closer are the restaurants, shops and amenities of Honiton. We had a lovely meal at the Honiton Wine Bar.
The cottage however was disappointing. It is very small and would be a very crowded with more than 2 people. The twin beds weren't made up when we got there although the daughter of the owner was more than happy to provide us with bedding for us to make a bed up. The kitchen is very small and can only accommodate one person at a time. There was no foil, cling film, very little washing up liquid and dishwasher powder and a very old washing up brush. The double bed that I slept in was very comfortable but not so the settees downstairs. We were pleased that the weather was good so that we didn't spend too much time inside. The shower over the bath was inadequate, very little pressure and I had to bend down to stand under it.
The shower curtain had seen better days and overall the furnishings were a little tired. The garden, which looks lovely on the website was overgrown and in need of some TLC. I have experience of many holiday cottages over many years and this one is very average.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shower
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2015
Thank you for taking for taking the time to write a review. It was a misunderstanding on my part regarding the beds for which I apologise.
The cottages are annually inspected and have always been rated 4****, this includes exceeding the minimum space requirements for 4 persons.
I have purposely chosen to have Leather suites rather than fabric, as they are easier to keep clean and more durable and hard wearing, but appreciate they are not to everyone's liking.
Water pressure is not normally a problem here, there is a lever on the side of the shower cradle to change its position and height.
The gardens are regularly maintained and had recently been cut back to remove the white asters and other flowers that had gone over. The hanging baskets above the French doors and barrels of white agapanthus on the patio are in full bloom. The Buddleja 'Devon' is almost out in flower and will attract many varieties of butterflies, once it is a sea of blue. With a combination of bulbs, shrubs, climbers, annuals and perennials there is always something in flower whatever the season.
Every year the cottages are painted throughout during February and this year we bought all new carpets, lino and mats and also changed all the heating. It has been our policy since we started, to reinvest and renew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing