We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wines but poor management”

Chankaska Creek Ranch & Winery
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Kasota
Attraction details
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good wines but poor management”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The winery has good wines but apparently the wine maker is no longer there which I heard from a staff member. I have been going to this establishment for some time and the amount of turn over in staff is fairly regular. The staff are very young and not very knowledgeable about wines. If you know this walking in and have your expectations low than you will be fine.

Every time we have gone the food has been good. It's mainly cheese platters and pizza's. It is important to know they do not take reservations during their busy season. I have had their manager tell me that despite not taking reservations "she could get us in, since we are regulars". This promise led us to wait for 30 minutes for a table to sit at only for us to get angry and leave.

The wines are now getting really expensive. Most wines are 25 - 45 dollars. I like wine but there are plenty good bottles for less than 20 that are more reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    5
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and good wines!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a group of ten on a Friday evening. Perfect service, excellent food (wood-fired pizza and appetizers), very welcoming tasting room and gift shop, live music on lower level. We would love to come back in warm weather since there are two lovely patios, fire pit, etc. And...good wines!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Local winery...”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice winery tour. Good selection of wines. Offer cold weather grape wines. Reasonable prices for a small winery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCMey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stopped on our way home just to take a look. The ranch itself is beautifully landscaped -- there is a nice outside sitting area, walking trails, vineyards, sheep. The inside has cute gift ideas and appears warm and friendly. We tried two of their wines, a red and a white recommended by the knowledgeable staff. Both were fantastic! We plan to return when we have more time to do a more extensive tasting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Winery”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This winery has incredible ambiance. Inside and out, no detail was missed. The winery hosts tours and tastings and is a great place to share a bottle of wine with friends. The staff is helpful and friendly. I can't say I found a new wine I can't live without, but I had a great time browsing their vast selection of wine-themed accessories and really appreciated the impromptu tour (we arrived quite a bit earlier than the first 2PM tour). I'm more than willing to come back and try more wine and pizza in the tasting room.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeddingPlanner09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chankaska Creek Ranch & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Chankaska Creek Ranch & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing