We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful State Park Facility”

Father Hennepin State Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Isle
Attraction details
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful State Park Facility”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed the trails and beaches at Father Hennepin! A great family destination. There are a few fishing docks, too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Truly one of the most beautiful parks in MN. I came here this summer with my wife to do some hiking. The hike starts along Lake Mille Lacs with some amazing views. It was a perfect sunny day with a nice warm breeze coming off the lake. The actual views of the lake are stunning, much like an inland sea due to the size. You can't see the other side just a dotting of islands and shoreline stretching off into the distance. The hike thru the woods yielded some mosquitos but not too bad. All in all well worth the trip and worth spending some good time at. Also the campgrounds looked great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had planned to camp at Scenic state park on our back back to Canada from Minneapolis. Our van broke down on the way, and we would have arrived to late after all the repairs were said and done. We literally looked up state parks we could get to by 10pm and this is where we landed. Are we ever lucky the van broke down.

Clearest water I've ever seen. Huge campsites, beautiful, thick woods. We only wish we had more time there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ndlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wow, A great place to stay instead of Hunter Winfields. You don't get screwed on the Price and the Park Rangers are very friendly. It is a jewel in the crown of Mille Lacs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GodBlessAmerica12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Beautiful! The lake and vegetation was just gorgeous

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank claypoolgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Father Hennepin State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing