We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use of groupon for fishing launch”
Review of The Wharf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wharf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Use of groupon for fishing launch”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We purchased a groupon for a four hour fishing launch.When we booked we were told you can not use the groupon on the weekend.We agreed to come up on a Friday instead.Upon arrival we were told our launch was canceled.no call or any advanced warning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A group of us went fishing on one of the Fishermen's Wharf boat launches - 2nd year in a row. The captain and assistant are very nice and obviously experienced. My one recommendation to anyone taking one of these excursions is to use the bathroom BEFORE getting on the boat. The makeshift bathroom without going into detail, is absolutely disgusting. For the money people spend I don't think it's too much to ask the outhouse be hosed down once in a while. YUCK!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Let me start with the bar.Great food, excellent service and great specials. The staff are great and the fishing staff are awesome. Our launch captain Dale put us on fish and kept us entertained. Several members of our group commented that they wanted to comeback on the same launch with the same captain. Later that night Dale was taking care of us (literally) at the bar! Amazing time.We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stay up at the Wharf several times a year and always have a great time. We look forward to staying with them as the food, bar and Wharf staff are excellent. The staff provides top notch customer service and all work very hard to make sure that you have everything you need. Thanks for another fun weekend! Looking forward to seeing you all in spring.
Roger and Joanne

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneBrooklynPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Well I had contacted Fishermans Wharf to get a 12 hour ice house rental for my husbands birthday gift....they had told me they would give me a great deal for their "premier ice cabin" at $150 + tax. We were beyond excited to get up there and start fishing. When we got there, we were orignally told checkin would be around noon....we didn't get checked in and out to the ice house until 1:30! We had to wait an additional 2 hours to get our porta potty brought out to us. When we put the camera down the ice hole to see if there were any fish, we saw scattered garbage and dead minnows underneath our whole house. The generator they had for the house was so loud, we had to talk over it and it rattled the whole thing. We didn't end up catching or seeing one fish come through in over 6 hours and decided we had enough. When we were leaving we had noticed the wind had picked up and it was getting extremely cold. It was around 7:30, we were driving down their main road system and we were turning a corner and got stuck in a huge snowdrift. We happened to be stuck no more than 300 yards away from their access and assumed that we could call them for help, so we called the resort and she was extremely rude. The only thing she kept telling us was that they don't tow off the lake, plows don't go on the roads after dark and she could give us the number to a tow truck company. First of all, we didn't need to be towed off the lake...it was only a 50 ft section of the road that was bad so why would we have paid someone over $150 for something that wasn't necessary. And second of all, we took the number for the tow company and they NEVER answered the phone. So here we are, car is stuck and is getting covered in snow rapidly...we tried pushing and we were getting no where. Finally two guys drove past and helped push us to the clear area so we could get off the lake....the thing that shocked me the most was that, it was a life or death situation out there (40 mph winds and 35 below with windchill). And they had no interest in helping us out! And to top it all off, when we dropped the keys off at the counter, there were 6 plow truck guys sitting at the bar, drinking and socializing! It would have taken them 5 minutes to drive out to the spot, plow the SMALL section of the road and drice back to the bar!!! Ugh, we will NEVER be going back there again and will never recommend that place to anyone. We go up to Mille Lacs every weekend with our portable ice house and have never met such a rude and unhelpful resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank StephanieUllom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Over the weekend I made a trip to Mille Lacs for ice fishing. I stayed with Portavilla and had an incredible experience, would recommend them to anyone looking for good fishing and good service. However, on our way up we decided to rent a power auger through Fisherman's Wharf. Wow, what a mistake. Upon our rental they left the auger outside and simply told us to take it and bring it back in 48 hours with no special instructions or any other sort of direction. This was fine because we had plenty of prior experience with an auger, so we simply took it and went on our way. The first hole we tried to drill with the dull auger took nearly fifteen minutes of straight drilling, before our portavilla guide left his shack and drilled one for us, making a remark on how dull the blade was on our auger. Upon the second hole we tried to drill the handle used to start the auger snapped off, leaving our auger useless for the next two days. Upon its return, we attempted to get at least a portion of our money back. This certainly did not happen! The unfriendly cashier at the resort would not even discuss a discount, and actually charged me an extra ten dollars for a "repair!" Despite my many efforts to try and discuss the problem with her, she eventually walked out of her bar saying "I will no longer discuss this with you, and the ten dollars will be charged to your credit card." Needless to say I had a horrible experience with this resort, and would tell anyone to avoid them and use any of the other better, and usually cheaper, resorts around the Mille Lacs area.

Room Tip: Go to another resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WharfIsle_MN, Owner at The Wharf Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I would like to address some inconsistenacies in the story above and the one told at the return of the auger. When the auger was rented the boys said they had plenty of experience and in fact owned an auger themselves. We never heard from them again until it was time to return the auger. They walked in with the broken handle which they said broke on their 2nd hole and that the blade was very dull. This was a brand new Strikemaster auger last year that had only a few hours of use on it due to the short season last year, the pull should not have broke unless it was abused. The claim to have a dull blade is absurd, the paint was barely scuffed on the auger due to the little use it has had. They also referred to it as a "1970's piece of equipment" in an effort to give some personal guide friend some credit. I did ask them to include that in their nasty review they promised to write as it would prove their exaggerations and ridiculousness. When asked why they never returned the auger right away they said they were on the other side of the lake and weren't going to drive all the way back to our resort. Well, as there statement says above, they rented out of Liberty which is less than 2 miles away, not 30 miles! When asked why they didn't call us then to inform us of any problems they claimed they didn't have our phone number and didn't have wi-fi to look it up. I informed them they rented from the wrong place as we do have wi-fi and will give out other resorts numbers to our customers in need. In fact, you can find them all listed on our website as well. After they clearly were full of lies, and just shooting for a free rental with threats, I told them I was done discussing the matter as it just kept going round and round in circles and that we would be charging the card the $10 for the needed repair per the paperwork they signed at the time of the rental. We do everything we can at FWR to assure customer satisfaction, unfortunatly there are always the people who feel the internet is the place to win their battles in life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

From the start we had a terrible experience! We were told we had a lot on the lake, which turned out to be completely false. When we talked to management about it they just said "what do u want us to do about it" There are drunks and dogs EVERY where! There is a bar right in the middle of the place, it was loud and a horrible experience! The worst part about the whole thing is you can't. Complain to management because their just as much at fault as all the swarm of drunks! We will NEVER EVER come back again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank claypoolgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WharfIsle_MN, Owner at The Wharf Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It appeared at the time that the situation here was the males in the group that made the reservation were very happy. None of our weekend sites are on the water, and they did receive the exact site that was rented over the phone. With their stay being on a holiday weekend I think our response referring to what can we do was stemming from the fact that we didn't have any available sites to move her to and we did give her what her group had reserved. We are a 90 acre resort and have 230 sites with many of them rented out seasonally. The site they had rented is highly coveted as many people enjoy being near the lake and close to the restaurant/bar. Holiday weekends can get a little busy and there can be the occasional out of hand guest or loose dog. We do not tolerate anyone getting too far out of hand. Customer Service is our number one concern, but it was clear in this case they wasn't anything we could do to make the situation right.

~ Lori Stenvold, Owner
Fishermen's Wharf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle
11.1 mi away
Eddy's Resort
Eddy's Resort
#2 of 5 in Onamia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
11.9 mi away
Grand Casino Mille Lacs
5.8 mi away
McQuoid's Inn & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Izatys Resort
Izatys Resort
#3 of 5 in Onamia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
15.1 mi away
Twin Pines Resort
Twin Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Garrison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Red Door Resort & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Resort

Property: The Wharf Resort
Address: 5101 Whistle Rd, PO Box 62, Isle, MN 56342-9238
Location: United States > Minnesota > Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Resort and Toucan’s Restaurant & Bar are located on 90 acres of Big Point with 1300’ of lakeshore & an 1800’ inland harbor on the Southeast shore Mille Lacs Lake. The Wharf faces South across a protected harbor to a sugar sand bottomed Sunset Bay, perfect for your recreational uses. Grand Casino Mille Lacs & Hinckley are just 30 & 40 miles away, respectively. Several Golf Courses, ATV Trails & Isle Shopping are only minutes away! We hope you’ll come enjoy a relaxing vacation with us sometime soon. We are open year-round and are a short 1 ½ hours from the Minneapolis / St. Paul area. Just let us know when you’re ready to visit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fishermen`s Wharf Resort And Toucan`s Bar And Restaurant
Fishermen`s Wharf Resort And Toucan`s Bar & Restaurant Hotel Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing