We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski, shoe, sauna, plunge... repeat.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isabella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Can't think of a more fun place to stay with better skiing, music or food. The trails are absolutely picturesque and the owners care deeply about the forest and surrounding wilderness. Ski until you can't ski any more, warm up in the sauna, take the Polar Plunge, hot tub and then do it all again the next day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We love "repeaters at the NFL. Thanks for your nice comments. Hope to see you again! Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I my wife and two kids have made a trip to National Forest Lodge an annual pilgrimage. We love being able to go and have fun without having to plan meals or entertainment. Andy is a terrific host and August is an amazing chef. Meals are served buffet style. Saturday night, there is live entertainment in the lodge. This year, we traveled with another family and shared the log home. With multiple bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and amazing lake views, this was much more posh than the spartan but cozy cabins we usually rent. (We still missed Cabin 8.) Classic cross-country skiing on groomed trails in Superior National Forest is something everyone should experience. Here, skiing through tall pine forests is literally right out your front door. Other activities include snowshoeing (several pair of snowshoes are available to borrow and trails are a short hike across the road), lounging in an outdoor hot tub and polar plunging after a lakeside sauna. Of course, there's always the option to just relax, make new friends or simply enjoy the winter scenery.

Room Tip: Cabin 8 offers easy access to the facilities and hot tub. It is also right on the ski trail head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at National Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Loved having you back in the "scary" cold! You guys are made of the right stuff. Thanks for all your positive feedback. Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A fantastic long weekend with friends. The cabin fit us nicely, allowing for privacy and community. The location is spectacular. We awoke each morning to a beautiful sunrise over the lake, coffee in the adirondack chairs, followed by a invigorating hike through the woods. We enjoyed canoeing on still water with no other people in site. A sauna soothed our sore muscles and followed by a glass of wine was the perfect end to each day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are heading back to the National Forest Lodge for the 4th consecutive year with a group of friends. This place offers some of the best and most scenic classic skiing in Minnesota. We have stayed in both the rustic cabins and the log home, and have enjoyed both. The Polar Plunge after a day of skiing has become one of our traditions. Andy is a great host, and we have found the meals excellent. Another treat has been the live Saturday night entertainment each time we have visited. If you enjoy the great outdoors, fabulous cross county skiing, and a fun place to spend with friends, you will have a great time at the NFL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Byron42881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the big cabin with several friends. We could ski right out the door. We enjoyed the food and fellowship with other skiers. The cook was very helpful in trying to satisfy our food restrictions (vegetarian, gluten-free, etc.). There was even live entertainment, which was excellent. The super bonus was the wonderful sauna and "taking the plunge" into the lake. We laughed so much our stomachs ached. Andy is a super host, very quirky and funny, and he really cares for his guests.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I love the National Forest Lodge in Isabella, Minnesota. We plan an annual trip to go "up North" to get away from the busy city life and breathe in the fresh air, stay in real log cabins, cross country ski in the many groomed trails and share meals, stories, laughter and music with the other guests in the dining hall. It is a unique and wonderful weekend and we look forward to it every year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The National Forest Lodge in Isabella MN is a true gem for winter enthusiasts. The classic skiing in the beautiful Superior National Forest is unmatched, as is the unique atmosphere of the NFL. With the rustic cabins, wood fired sauna (AND polar plunge!), the large outdoor hot tub, and great meals provided I can not imagine a more perfect getaway in the winter! Andy works tirelessly on maintenance and entertaining his guests:)
And for those who do not know, Andy and his wife own and operate a fabulous B&B on the Baptism River!! Can not wait to visit for our 7th year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank panondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Forest Lodge

Address: 9905 National Forest Lodge Rd, Isabella, MN 55607-9702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Isabella
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Isabella
Price Range: $70 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, warm cabins with a charm all their own are nestled in the towering pines of the forest and provide the perfect place to settle into after a day on the trails! National Forest Lodge offers a unique all-inclusive Winter get-away of great cross country skiing and snowshoeing, hearty food, and friendly hospitality. In the Spring, Summer or Fall, rent out the Log Home or one of our camper cabins. Great fishing, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, biking and more. Roast some weenies and marshmallows over your fire pit or get baked in our lakeside Finnish sauna (firewood provided!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing