We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family cross country ski weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isabella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent three days with our grown kids and our grandkids at National Forest Lodge after Christmas. The snow was wonderful, grooming excellent, woods beautiful. Cabins were cozy and rustic, just as we hoped. Music on Saturday night was great, as was the resort host. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at National Forest Lodge in June 2013, had a perfect family vacation. Everything was easy and comfortable. The cabin was exactly as described, access to the lake was great. We spent time canoeing, hiking, fishing, relaxing in the cabin, and small outages to local area's to do some geocaching. We heard wolves howling at night as we sat by the campfire and saw a moose nearbye on the way in. Nice Place to unwind and enjoy nature yet stay comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Delightful cabin in north woods. Fall color just peaking in the ridges around Finland. Loved the privacy. Short walk to lake. Fully stocked kitchen with housewares. Super clean. Great driving directions to lodge. Fun and relaxation abound, enjoyed the firepit each night. Toasty warm heater.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We traveled with our 2 children (10 and 8) for a long weekend in February and were delighted by the simple joy of relaxing together. We were lucky to arrive after a large snowfall; the trees were beautiful and the trails perfect. As is usually the case with kids, the hot-tub and sauna were the main draw and both kids are now well-versed in the polar plunge as well. It was the highlight of their trip. As for the adults, the highlights included enjoying the peaceful silence of the woods, seeing the stars in the sky and not having any worries aside from deciding which trail to take. The food was plentiful and very good, Andy was an excellent host, and the music on Saturday night fantastic. While rustic, the facilities are clean, cozy and warm. We plan to make this an annual family getaway.

Room Tip: The cabins are clean and cozy. If you are expecting a luxurious lodge you'll probably be disapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVSoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've been coming up here for about 4 years and love the wonderfully groomed trails, gorgeous north woods scenery, clean cabins, and most of all the jump in the lake after a sauna. Andy takes great care of his guests. This is a wonderful warm place for a comfortable yet rustic vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morchella e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Andy and the team at NFL make this a fabulous experience. Skiing through pine forests, relaxing in the dining hall/lodge and not having to worry about meals make this the perfect getaway from it all weekend.
Your biggest worries are whether you'll take the polar plunge, which trail to take and what to bring along to drink. (The water is great, just a little boring so to speak).
If you're a larger group try to rent the log home. We had 10 in it and were very comfortable.
We've also stayed in the cozy cabins that are for 2-4 people. All were clean and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a group of friends head up for a ski weekend and it could not have been better. Great location just off the National forest ski trails. Conditions were excellent, best cross country skiing this year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamagusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Forest Lodge

Address: 9905 National Forest Lodge Rd, Isabella, MN 55607-9702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Isabella
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Isabella
Price Range: $70 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, warm cabins with a charm all their own are nestled in the towering pines of the forest and provide the perfect place to settle into after a day on the trails! National Forest Lodge offers a unique all-inclusive Winter get-away of great cross country skiing and snowshoeing, hearty food, and friendly hospitality. In the Spring, Summer or Fall, rent out the Log Home or one of our camper cabins. Great fishing, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, biking and more. Roast some weenies and marshmallows over your fire pit or get baked in our lakeside Finnish sauna (firewood provided!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing