We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised by the nice rooms. I have paid twice as much in rural areas for older not as nice rooms. Staff was efficient and friendly. I will stay again when in the area. The breakfast area was limited and did not have as many options as I'm accustom to, but I don't pick a hotel on the free breakfast. There are restaurants with in walking distance and I would recommend Old World Pizza across the street

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnkevin4723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 212 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We found the hotel to be clean and the beds were very comfortable. The pool area had hot tub and sauna. Our grandson had a great time in the pool. We found the breakfast to be very good and had waffles and biscuits and gravy plus many other things. For the price, it was a very good choice. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I travel frequently for business and most often select mid-line hotels in Hilton property brands. I've found my expectations to be consistently met and the overall experience to be a known factor rather than unknown. When traveling frequently, I don't want unknown things to surprise me especially when rest is involved.

When we booked a room at this Americinn for a recent family wedding here, I knew I couldn't be expecting a Hilton property. I naturally lowered my expectations -- who knows how the room would cleaned, how the food would be, how comfortable the bed would be, etc.

I was not disappointed. In fact, I could even go so far as to say I was pleasantly surprised.

I flew into town and got the hotel's *free* shuttle from the airport. (Not uncommon for airport-area hotels, but this was a treat not billed as an MSP "airport-area" hotel.)
Got to our room which is incredibly spacious and well laid out. With two kids in tow, we had more than enough space for all their stuff and still walk around without stepping on eachother. In-room microwave and fridge are also nice factors with the kids.
Breakfast was average. Nothing special, but nothing awful.
As far as extras go, the free WiFi is great to have and a good pool proved to be a nice play place for the kids (though the water was awfully cold).
While the hotel seems tucked in a goofy location, there is a good assortment of restaurants nearby which is convenient.

If I had one complaint it would be that a meeting/party room was right below ours, which made it awfully noisy late into the night.

I did hear that others in our extended family had troubles with room assignments/reservations and other miscommunications with staff. I can't speak to the details, as I don't know them, but there may be a marginal window to prove that things overall may not be as great here as my personal experience was.

If you're expecting high-end or modern fixtures and über-class, you will likely be disappointed. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay, this may do the trick.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel was clean and the services good. We had stayed at a Days Inn for the same amount that was not nearly as nice or clean. Bed was comfortable, breakfast good, room very roomy and clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

1. FDesk lost my reservation so the day we showed up we almost didnt have a room. Claimed they couldnt find me in the system even though iv been there before.

2. Saw that my credit card was "authorized" double the amount i expected but didnt think anything of it since I assumed it was just for "incidentals" and wasnt actually charged.

3. Then found out my card was charged that double amount A N D the actual rate i had been quoted.

4. over the course of 2 weeks i left numerous messages for management (by the way who the night auditor says is a complete waste of space) several voicemails with no return call.

5. Finally called the Americinn complaint department whom they couldnt even get a hold of management for several days.

The place isnt that big or fancy, its a hotel, not a rocket ship. Theres no reason the moron management there couldnt return a phone call. I was completely nice up until about the third phone call with no return.

6. Finally about 4 weeks later I saw a credit to my account for ONLY the amount they over charged me with no explanation.

Will never stay here again and cancelled our reservations here for our family reunion in December.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed one night. Took advantage of the shuttle service to the MOA. Room was clean and smelled good. Front desk personnel was friendly and kind. The bed was very comfortable. Pool was perfect temperature and the breakfast was great! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

As others have said, I expect more from an AmericInn. Dated furnishings, scratchy sheets, crowded lobby during breakfast. Good location for south metro excursions though. Emma Crumbee's across the road is a better bet for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintertraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inver Grove Heights
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Inver Grove Heights/Minneapolis
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts
Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - ...
#2 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
65 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
EnVision Hotel St. Paul South
EnVision Hotel St. Paul South
#1 of 1 in South Saint Paul
34 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Eagan
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights

Address: 5861 Blaine Ave, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076-1401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Inver Grove Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inver Grove Heights
Price Range: $99 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing