We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good 2nd time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zella's

Zella's
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Hutchinson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This is an amazing find in southwestern MN. You usually have to drive another 70 miles to the twin cities to get this level of food. Please list so we can review! Thanks!
Minneapolis, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not so good 2nd time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience a year ago. Yesterday was a repeat visit with friends. Entree ordered by me was a braised short rib. It was tasty even though a bit over cooked, just the opposite for the sides. Fingerling potatoes were hard, barely cooked, broccoli was lukewarm and way to crunchy. Very disappointing, especially considering the reputation this restaurant has.

Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
206 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Somewhere between "Average" and "Very Good"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Have been to Zella's on two occasions for lunch. For lunch you proceed to the rear counter, place your order, then take your number and pick a table. The atmosphere is very nice, sort of like an old fashioned supper club. The booths are comfortable and private feeling.

I've had the half salad both times, the first time it was the Asian Chopped salad and this last time it was the Grilled Pear Salad. Both were good, but I found it disappointing that the Grilled Pear Salad had exactly ONE razor-thin slice of grilled pear, that was 1 1/2 inches in diameter.

This last visit my children had the pasta and red sauce from the kid's menu; they both enjoyed it but I found there to be an off taste in the sauce that I couldn't quite name.

The lunch servers are a bit abrupt, not much attention is paid to your table. I would hope that the dinner service is much different!

I would rate Zella's somewhere above "Average" but not quite "Very Good" based on what I've ordered. I will go again and try something different from the menu sometime.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Menu always has new items always done extremely well. Good wine selection and good pairing ideas. Food is always fresh and they do you local producers whenever possible.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pandmMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food from locally grown products”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We enjoyed our meal. The hostess gave us our choice of window tables so that we could keep an eye on the city's main street. We tried local beers. The server told us the menu changes frequently because the chef tries to use as many locally grown products as possible. The day we visited, bacon-wrapped morel mushrooms were available as a special. We shared that entrée and some personal-sized pizzas. We will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lvaldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Zella's is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Zella's is a quaint restored restaurant in down town Hutchinson, Mn. We love the atmosphere and the food is delicious. Try the fillet mignon is is excellent. Fun place to take friends or have a quiet dining experience for two.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zella's also viewed

 

Been to Zella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing