We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”
Review of The Ingham Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ingham Swan
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My partner and I decided to plan a weekend away and we were recommended to try the Ingham Swan. After speaking to a lovely lady on the phone we booked the newly renovated room with an incredible view. Upon arrival I was extremely impressed with the friendly service and the beautifully designed room we would be staying in. It was warm, cosy and exceptionally clean. We ate at the restaurant which was fantastic. I am a frequent diner and was utterly impressed with the quality of the food. We thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and will definitely head back there in the summer months as there is so much to see in this gorgeous part of the country.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Louiza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Ingham Swan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Popped in just before Christmas and welcomed by a warm friendly pub. Sat at a lovely table in front of the fire and sampled a taster menu from heaven. The tastes and quality of the food were exceptional.

Correctly sized portions. Beautifully presented.
I've eaten in many restaurants selling themselves as fine food establishments, but this place is a gem and worth the trip.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank LondonMbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you very much for the kind comments in your Tripadvisor review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Christmas Taster Menu and the restaurant ambiance. From April we will be running a Taster Menu every evening alongside our full A la Carte which we hope will receive the same positive response as our Christmas Taster Menu. We hope to welcome you back to The Ingham Swan again on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Food as ever great in the restaurant but can`t recommend you stay there.
We stayed in an upgraded room No 5, dark, dinghy, couldn't stand up, had to sit on toilet as no room to stand, frayed and smelly carpets, not good.

Room Tip: Not room No 5 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyShaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant. Regarding the accomodation, we take all feedback seriously and are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. The rooms are currently undergoing complete refurbishment as the freehold has now been purchased by our chef proprietor. Our new luxurious and comfotable bedrooms will reopen from mid-February and will be complete with modern amenities.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you to stay once again at the Ingham Swan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Myself and my partner visited this establishment for a second time having had the lunch menu previously and been impressed. We opted for the Xmas Tasting menu. This was a 6 course meal which was absolutely terrific. We both loved all of the dishes - there was nothing that could have been improved upon. The staff were attentive and friendly and really knew their stuff. Would recommend the Xmas tasing menu to anyone. Great location and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidCoxManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you kindly for your Tripadvisor review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Christmas Taster Menu which we hope offers something different during the festive season. From April we will also be running a Tasting Menu in the evenings, alongside our A la Carte Menu, which will change regularly. We hope to welcome you back to The Ingham Swan try our new Tasting Menu in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went out for lunch today with friends. We chose two courses from the set menu and the food was terrific!The chicken dish was so flavoursome and apparently the salmon was just as delicious.For dessert we thoroughly enjoyed the bakewell tart with sorbet and the orange cake with ice cream The service was good and the ambiance great,I can't wait for another visit!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorerEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your lunch at The Ingham Swan. We hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As they do not allow dogs into the pub, we had to wait until we were without the hound before trying this "pub"- well a small bar area with two tables and a couple of restaurant rooms. Very friendly welcome and smooth professional service from two charming young ladies. Beautifully produced and very tasty food with robut flavours all at a very reasonable price- £ 40 for a three course set lunch with coffee and a couple of small beers. No wonder it was almost full on a Thursday. We shall be back- shame the hound won't be able to join us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunnitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you kindly for your positive review and kind comments. We are so pleased you managed to visit us and enjoyed your dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you again on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We drove out one Sunday for lunch on my mothers recommendation. On entering the restaurant we sat at the bar as the waitress was busy getting drinks. I don't mind waiting but I do think its good manners to be acknowledged which we wasn't for about 5 minutes. We then got our drinks and taken to our table. We both had scallops to start with which were lovely. Pork for main which again was good however the veg that came with it had barely been cooked. Now I like my veg with a bit of bite but these must have had about 2 mins in the pot. Dessert was very disappointing, we both had apple crumble which was basically stewed apples with a bit of crumble thrown on top. No custard only ice cream. It was a lovely restaurant and the meal would have been very good if it hadn't been let down by a few minor elements. And one other thing. My husbands beer was very cold. Defiantly ruins a good pint!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review. We take all feedback seriously and constructively and are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your dining experience. We have made the relevant teams aware and hope that we can welcome you back to The Ingham Swan in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ingham Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ingham Swan

Address: Sea Palling Road, Ingham NR12 0TW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingham
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ingham Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ingham Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing