We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost.....”
Review of The Ingham Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ingham Swan
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

......almost a perfect night / dinner / breakfast combination.....
dinner was great, on the pricey side but every dish was well put together. So what was the issue....? Well one of the key ingredients in one of the dishes was missing.....on pointing this out to the waiter, we were told that it was 'mixed in' with the other ingredients of the dish.........hmm, a simple explanation as to why it wasn't in the dish rather than telling a blatant lie would have been appreciated ! That said, a very nice meal overall. The full english the next morning was fantastic, the best bacon we had on the trip !

The accommodation is rather shabby for the price. Rustic 'chic' is fine however cobwebs and daddy long legs are not and the waft of rubbish from the adjacent bin storage area really needs to be addressed

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yclee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you very much review. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall dining experience and our Full English Breakfast. We apologise for the standard of the bedroom during your stay. Our bedrooms are currently undergoing complete refurbishment and are due to reopen from mid-February. The bedrooms and bathrooms will be more luxurious and comfortable with amenities such as Wifi and Nespresso coffee machines. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Ingham Swan in the future with the perfect dinner, bed and breakfast experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Loved this restaurant had ghastly experience sunday lunch service appalling very slow and had to ask for menu then for them to take order bearing in mind we booked for 1.30 eventually order taken at 2.15 I'd love to say this was the only complaint but alas I ordered the smoked haddock which I'd defy anyone to eat the hole meal as I felt a whole salt pot had been added was disgusting !!! Shame as I loved this restaurant but won't be returning !!!!shame!!! Much better restaurants in area !!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback constructively and can only but apologise for the dining experience you received on this occasion and we have made the team aware. As you have dined with us previously, you understand that this is not a regular occurrence and we pride ourselves on delivering customer service and excellent food. We apologise again and hope that you will dine with us once more in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had booked a 3-night visit to Norfolk and with such a short holiday, we wanted everything to be spot on. We stayed in Room 5 with the 4-poster bed and as the only guests that night, not a problem with noise and the dinner and breakfast were excellent. Who would have thought that an inn paying complete attention and detail to the quality and presentation of such outstanding food would expect guests to stay in a shabby, tatty, cheap as chips looking room? For £100 and a 4-poster we were expecting something special. Instead the bathroom appliances looked like they were out of the 70's, the bathroom so small you had to maneuver yourself in it, the carpet was frayed and dirty, mirrors smudged, and so dark we had to have several lights on in the day to see anything. The bed looked like it had been a DIY job on the weekend with visible nails. It smelled damp and the furniture looked like it was out of a second hand charity shop. We cited our feelings to the manager who was pleasant and understood our concerns and agreed to a reduction in price. I would have rather stayed in a gorgeous B&B and had good fish and chips on the beach than the great food and absolutely awful, overpriced room! That is something coming from a "foodie" but nothing is worth staying here for, not even the great food.

Room Tip: The most expensive room which we stayed in (5) was dire. Saw none of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dot1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review. We are pleased you enjoyed you dining experience whilst staying with us. We apologise for the standard of your room during your stay. We have recently acquired the freehold to The Ingham Swan which means we are now able to refurbish the accommodation. We are currently completely refurbishing the bedrooms which will result in rooms being luxurious, more comfortable and fully soundproofed. The rooms will have quality fixtures and fittings and amenities such as Nespresso coffee machines and Wifi. The bathrooms are also being totally replaced and two of our four rooms will have wet-rooms with walk-in showers. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Ingham Swan to experience our new luxurious accommodation in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We pre booked this hotel before we left home and were quite disappointed with the accommodation on our arrival. The room was in an annex which in itself wasnt a problem but it had very low ceilings and beams and the ensuite was more like a large cupboard. It was clean and well furnished though. The food though was certainly not a disappointment and we enjoyed an excellent dinner and breakfast and the chef/owner certainly deserves Michelin recognition.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and your kind comments regarding the restaurant we are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We have recently acquired the freehold to the business and are now able to improve the accommodation. We are currently completely refurbishing the bedrooms, due to reopen mid-February, which will result in them being more comfortable and luxurious and to include amenities such as Nespresso coffee machinse and Wifi access. The bathrooms are also being refitted with two of our four bedrooms having wet rooms with walk-in showers. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Ingham Swan to stay with us on future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at Swan for three nights. Peaceful location and very comfortable
family room (although just myself and my husband).No real atmosphere. Everyone
keeping themselves to themselves

Very hearty breakfast! Ingredients very fresh and well presented.

Did not get a chance to meet proprietor. Pleasant staff serving meals,
but they did not really invite conversation, and we did try!

Would recommend for food and sleeping. No atmosphere in the evenings!

Found it an excellent position for touring the county of Norfolk

    • Value
    • Service
Thank ellisowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I booked the Ingham Swan as a kick off to a few days off for my husbands birthday (a special one!). It was a perfect start. Relaxed and comfortable from the point we arrived. Service from all the people we came in to contact with was excellent. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The room was comfortable and warm. Couldn't expect any more!

Room Tip: We had the four poster room and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDobs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for the kind comments in your Tripadvisor review. We are so pleased you and your husband enjoyed you stay with us for your husbands special occasion and that you enjoyed a relaxing dining experience. We would like to mention that we are currently completely renovating our bedrooms, due to reopen from mid-February, which will result in them being more comfortable and luxurious with features such as Nespresso coffee machines and Wifi access. Two of our bedrooms will also have bathrooms with walk in showers. We hope that we can welcome you and your husband back to The Ingham Swan for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After visiting for the first time for a family member's birthday and being super impressed, I took the opportunity to book the off-season 3 course dinner and B&B for 2 (£115, Sundays and Mondays only September to March) for my boyfriend and I. On arrival we were greeted warmly by staff and shown to our room, room 3, which was on the ground floor of the stable conversion. The room was both cosy and spacious for a cottage-style bedroom, very comfy bed and lovely thick duvet. Had no problems with draughts as others have mentioned, and although we occasionally heard movement upstairs from other guests it did not disturb us - I think attempting to sound proof such a lovely old building would completely trash it's charm and character!
For dinner we had the choice to either fine from the menu de jour, or put the value of that meal to dishes from the a la carte. We chose to do the latter, and the difference to be paid after the 3 courses was minimal considering the quality of the food! We both agreed the steak was the best we'd ever tasted, and my chocolate fondant with honey and thyme ice cream was to die for.
The staff are so polite, helpful and efficient - it's really lovely to be served by such well mannered and obviously hard working people. As a young couple dining in an upmarket establishment it is rare to be treated with the same respect and care as anyone else rather than being made to feel small and inferior! As for the other reviews complaining about the speed (yes speed, not lack thereof as with many restaurants) of the service, I think they are simply looking for things to be petty about. We did not feel rushed in the slightest and were left to enjoy our coffees by the fire and make our way to bed at our own pace.
Breakfast was great as well, I can't understand how anyone can have a bad word to say about the Ingham Swan, I have had a 100% positive experience, found it to be good value and the service impeccable. Will certainly be recommending to others and returning in the future! Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your stay and dining experience with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Ingham Swan. We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms which will result in them being more comfortable and luxurious whilst maintaining elements of their original character. Our bedrooms with feature amenities such as Nespresso coffee machines and Wifi access. We hope we can welcome you back to The Ingham Swan to have an enjoyable stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ingham Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ingham Swan

Address: Sea Palling Road, Ingham NR12 0TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingham
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ingham Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ingham Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing