We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE-Go if you want people to be rude to you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Casino Hinckley
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Nekoosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE-Go if you want people to be rude to you”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My friends and I have had bad experiences both times. Both times they closed the pool, the machines are tight and the service is extremely RUDE. They had told us to preregister and come back later to a different line when our rooms were ready, so when we came back they told us to get back in the long line again. They actually were yelling at us. One lady was nice enough to call the manager, but the one "customer service" just glared at us. The free room is defineately not worth the 5 hour trip. They can send us all the free stuff they want, but we will never go there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leah12nekoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    127
    58
    42
    51
See reviews for
89
167
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This casino is nothing but rude and disrespectful. I've been here numerous times and spent a lot of money (as well as my group) and we were treated like dirt. The customer service is so unbelievably rude that we left.

My reccommendation is that you drive the extra half hour to Black Bear Casino, at least I was treated with respect there. This casino is not worth your time and MOST DEFINITELY not your money.

If you come in contact with a girl named Tonya at the bar and grill; run because she is the nastiest person you will meet. She caused nothing but problems for our group.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hells2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

My wife and I stay at the Grand Casino Hinkley every now and then. We are always greated by the front desk staff with a smile and pleasant greeting. The casino is the best in minnesota for gaming. Many choices of machines in different denomintion of play. The representatives on the floor are always cleaning and serving beverages to the guest. The hotel is well appointed for anyone's needs. We always enjoy our stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdwringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I went here to celebrate my birthday and had the worst experience. The staff at reservations was not only rude but very racist! They had no reason to get out of line with my family and I. They lied to the owner and had us kicked out. When we asked for a reason, he said that he didn't have to give us one. I guess it explained why we were the ONLY people of color in there. We are CLEARLY not welcomed!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CeeM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
423 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Our room was clean and spacious, beds were very, very soft. Almost felt like a waterbed. Casino was extremely smoky and filled with zillions of slot machines. Took us a while to find the table games. We golfed at the nearby course and that was very nice. Food was better than expected for a casino hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrifield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel I stayed at was the one over by Tobies. Being is was one of Grand Casino Hinckleys properties I did expect it to be nice. IT WASN'T !!! The room was dirty, cups in the bathroom were cracked before I even used them and the sink in bathroom was clogged. For $90 plus dollars I did expect better. I felt I got a leftover room even though I had made a reservation months in advance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judge28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Having visited casinos in most of Canada and the United States I would rate the Grand Hotel and Casino, Hinckley, as equivalent in service, accommodation and gaming to any of the better venues. We have just completed our third two night visit during the past three months and are planning our next mini holiday. The staff in every department starting at the front desk and continuing throughout to the casino floor are knowledgeable and courteous, the food is great, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and exceptionally quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasha_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
0.7 mi away
Grand Hinckley Inn
Grand Hinckley Inn
#2 of 6 in Hinckley
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Hinckley
89 reviews
21.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Hinckley
Days Inn Hinckley
#3 of 6 in Hinckley
286 reviews
12.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Finlayson
27 reviews
18.8 mi away
Grantsburg Inn
Grantsburg Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Casino Hinckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Casino Hinckley

Property: Grand Casino Hinckley
Address: 777 Lady Luck Drive, Highway 48, Hinckley, MN 55037
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hinckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Casino Hinckley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 563
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Casino Hinckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Casino Hinckley Hotel Hinckley
Grand Casino Hinckley Mn
Grand Hotel Hinckley
Hinkley Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing