We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Equal to any of the better casinos outside of Las Vages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Casino Hinckley
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Equal to any of the better casinos outside of Las Vages”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Having visited casinos in most of Canada and the United States I would rate the Grand Hotel and Casino, Hinckley, as equivalent in service, accommodation and gaming to any of the better venues. We have just completed our third two night visit during the past three months and are planning our next mini holiday. The staff in every department starting at the front desk and continuing throughout to the casino floor are knowledgeable and courteous, the food is great, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and exceptionally quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasha_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    127
    58
    42
    51
See reviews for
89
167
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I enjoy a Decent Casino , this isn't one of them. It is just OK , machines are very tight , I have been here for 2 days have not seen anyone on floor hit a jackpot. I realize you usually loose in a Casino but would be nice to play a bit more for $$$ spent. There are alot of machines but most of them are very outdated , not very many new games here. Food and service are just OK also. My 1st and last time for this place

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DudefromTBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Hotel is average. We had a room on the older West wing so there was not a refrigerator to keep our beverages in. The Food was very good. We had the Crab Legs (on a Sunday Night) The only bad experience was the Bartender's at the Silver sevens bar. There was only 1 bartender at a time serving and they were not in a hurry to serve their customers. One friend ordered a drink with Coke and got Diet Coke instead. The Bartender insisted she ordered diet coke and almost refused to give her the correct drink. My friend said she cannot drink diet coke and would NEVER order a drink that contained it. He rudely took the drink, dumped it out and made her a new one. Is it not still the saying that "The Customer is always Right"?

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dbestbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINE CITY, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We had booked a reservation for a poolside room to have a birthday party for my daughter and her friends. it was very important for us to have a poolside room to go in and out of since we had smaller children in our party. upon arrival we were informed that they did not book us in a poolside room and there was nothing they could do for us. They refused to give us any sort of discount for the inconvenience. The pool was dirty and the room was very noisy. We do not recommend this hotel and will not use them again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYENGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

If you're heading to Grand Casino Hinckley, be sure to allow some to relax at the Grand Harmony Spa. I was delightfully surprised by the staff and facility. I've been to the spa several times now and have never been disappointed. The facility is roomy, clean and very relaxing. When I made the reservation they recommended I arrive early, so glad I took the advice. I took time to sit in the steam room and hot tub to unwind before my day of pampering. If you're interested in a massage, I would recommend Josh or Connie, for a facial Jenelle (she's the only one I've had, but she's great!) and for a pedicure Monica.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kide0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Grand Casino used to have the best buffet in the whole area. I was there on a Wednesday and they had their "smokehouse buffet" for $14.99. It was so bad, I felt sorry for the staff having to work there. The BBQ ribs had NO sauce on them. The bean dishes were so mashed up they were unrecognizable. The mashed potatoes were even bad.
Then - the room-- It was in an area where there were workman, and they started hammering away at 8 a.m. I usually go to these places to get some much needed R&R, and I was disappointed that I was awakened this early, especially since I don't sleep well in the first place. The TV's are old and it was hard to change the channel. Why don't they have flat screens? Time to up-date. The lamps all had the tops removed--the part that holds the shade on. I don't know if people steal these things or what, but every time I went to turn on a lamp, the shade fell off. The bedspread smelled bad. I know, I know--I've read that they are NEVER washed, but this one really smelled bad--can't they at least wash them once in a while?
All in all, I am truly disappointed with Grand Casino Hinckley.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katerina111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
206 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel and casino are great, we were meeting friends so decided to try the STEAK buffet, for $16.99 a person we thought it should be fine. Was that a mistake. it wasn't very busy so I thought it wouldn't take long for a steak to be prepared, well, there were too identical pans of quarter inch thick slices of steak shaped meat, one marked new york strip - med rare and the other ribeye med rare . There were about a dozen pieces of meat all dry and because of the thickness extremely well done. We asked about the prime rib and were directed to another pan that was a cross between meatloaf and swiss steak. The other items were a baked chicken, oriental items, ham and turkey veggies, mashed and baked potato all warm but none hot. I asked about a steak knife and was told my butter knife should be fine.
I have travelled Mexico extensively and that's exactly what I saw here was an all inclusive buffet without seafood. No, there was a small bowl with 10 small peal and eats
This was not even passable as a cheap luncheon buffet

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viking226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
0.7 mi away
Grand Hinckley Inn
Grand Hinckley Inn
#2 of 6 in Hinckley
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Hinckley
89 reviews
21.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Hinckley
Days Inn Hinckley
#3 of 6 in Hinckley
287 reviews
12.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Finlayson
27 reviews
18.8 mi away
Grantsburg Inn
Grantsburg Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Casino Hinckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Casino Hinckley

Property: Grand Casino Hinckley
Address: 777 Lady Luck Drive, Highway 48, Hinckley, MN 55037
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hinckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Casino Hinckley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 563
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Casino Hinckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Casino Hinckley Hotel Hinckley
Grand Casino Hinckley Mn
Grand Hotel Hinckley
Hinkley Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing