We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Grand Casino Hinckley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Casino Hinckley
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our stay at Grand Casino Hinckley”
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Just returned from a 4day 3nite stay at the main hotel at Grand Casino Hinckley. Most everything was wonderful but had a few bumps in the road mostly service concerns at the Grill. Went to the grill twice for breakfast as we had coupons from the mid-break package....the first morning everything was great but the second was a nightmare....food was cold, service was horrible and then the waitress charged us incorrectly. I sent a email when we returned home and was contacted within 2hrs by the head of the food department. She apologized and sent us a coupon to use on a future visit.
Cherries the snack bar at the casino was busy all the time but service and food were great.
The room was good too we were in the new section and room had a frig and microwave which they don't have in the old part.
Machines were tight at first but seemed to loosen up in the middle of the night.
I would reccomend this place to anyone, we have been coming here for many years and the only problem we have had is in the Grill...but If you go to Cherries or the buffet you will have no problem

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcatsmom0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    123
    56
    37
    48
See reviews for
86
158
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We love to go to Hinckley. The bands are always really good. The machines have great selection. The staff is awesome. The rooms are clean. This is our favorite casino. We get free rooms from other casino's, BUT we would rather pay to stay at Hinckley- much more fun.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler707Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We just returned from a one night stay at the casino.

We booked on the phone after finding the "MidWeek Break" hotel promotion online. We got our room, $20 in gaming cash, and a $25 restaurant credit for $85. Thought it was a good deal. We did have some coupons from our Grand Rewards card but they were for one of the other hotels at Grand Casino. We wanted to stay at the casino instead of driving or taking a shuttle so we opted out on that.

Check in was a breeze. If you drive around to the back of the building you find the entrance for the hotel lobby. Our room was 575 which was at the end of the hall. The room was an odd shape due to being down at the end and we liked it that way.

The room was bigger than we thought it would be. Also had a fridge and microwave. The bed was comfy. We called housekeeping for more pillows and had them at our door in about 5 minutes. Like people have said before, the mattress is a foam type that you sink into. We are used to our soft bed so by morning it was a bit hard, but we still both slept great.

The walls are thin. We didn't noticed it until we went to bed around 2am and found we could hear a male's voice next door talking and laughing.

The smell of the casino and the hallways can get a bit nauseating. Our room didn't have that smokey smell though. The doors seem to block it out well.

We didn't try out the pool. We ate at the Grand Grill. We showed up 20 minutes before closing and were still served our food without a complaint. Waiter was great. Food was okay.

Overall the staff were great. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbwblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed at the Grand Casino Hinckley two nights, Sep. 24 and 25, 2008. The hotel and casino is located a short distance east of Hinckley. Our room was ready when we arrived and was clean and comfortable. It was larger than most average hotel rooms, and had comfortable chairs and space to relax. The hotel has four varied restaurants which are reasonably priced. We had a pleasant stay and would return if in the area.

  • Liked — large, lean, and comfortable room
  • Disliked — The bed pillows were not very comfortable and couyld be improved upon.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Toofaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

casino fair on slots, beds very very firm, no sleep

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wizard14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed on a casino promotion for birthday. The hotel is very nice. Room (king bed NS) was good sized. Bed was a memory foam type matress which we had never tried and now know we will never buy one. They're good if you never move around but to roll over means climbing out of a hole you've sunk into. Room was spotless clean. Bathroom not large but OK. Despite fan mirror fogged up badly and took alonf time to clear. When they built the new wing they should have used a mirror defogger electric mat on the back of the mirror like many hotels are doing when the vanity is in the same room as the shower.

The hotel areas are smoke free in contrast to the adjoining casino. Did not try the pool but there are several on the property and adjoining RV park. Check-in/out were super efficient. Week nights the hotel seems pretty low occupancy so calling directly for a casino rate might be worthwile. Weekends they can be very busy and rates higher ($100+/nt). All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — casino, restaurants, nice room, clean
  • Disliked — memory foam mattress, bathroom mirror fogged real bad
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sequim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I should preface my comments by saying that, overall, our room, in and of itself, was fine. It was clean, very spacious, and the beds were fairly comfortable. We were at the Casino to see a show, not to gamble, but the place was very crowded, so there was a lot of smoking in the casino. As a result, even though our room was on a non-smoking floor, the smoke tended to permeate the entire building, even the non-smoking areas. It seemed as though there was no filtration system working in the building.
If you are a smoker, this hotel is fine. If you are not a smoker and are sensitive to cigarette smoke, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — The cigarette smoke
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
0.7 mi away
Grand Hinckley Inn
Grand Hinckley Inn
#2 of 6 in Hinckley
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Hinckley
87 reviews
21.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Hinckley
Days Inn Hinckley
#3 of 6 in Hinckley
272 reviews
12.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Finlayson
26 reviews
18.8 mi away
Grantsburg Inn
Grantsburg Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsburg
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Casino Hinckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Casino Hinckley

Property: Grand Casino Hinckley
Address: 777 Lady Luck Drive, Highway 48, Hinckley, MN 55037
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hinckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Casino Hinckley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 563
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Casino Hinckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Casino Hinckley Hotel Hinckley
Grand Casino Hinckley Mn
Grand Hotel Hinckley
Hinkley Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing