We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast. Good baked goods”
Review of Tobies

Tobies
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Hinckley
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Saint Ansgar, Iowa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good breakfast. Good baked goods”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped for breakfast on a long trip home. A good solid breakfast place. Known for their baked goods it's hard to leave without buying SOMETHING to take along.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MindiV71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    76
    60
    35
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good location, strictly average bakery”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Tobie's is well located, and it's an efficiently run operation. While some people rave about Tobie's bakery (e.g. their cinnamon or pecan rolls), I've never understood why some people make a fuss about their bakery goods. The pecan rolls and donuts I've had at Tobie's are of average supermarket quality, no more. And when I've eaten here, the food has been average Perkins quality. Cassidy's on the west side of I-35 is a far better bet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Some great, some not so great.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Tobies has been around a long time and has quite a reputation which is built around it bakery goods. And yes, the bakery goods are delicious. We ate dinner there and found out that they should stick to just having a bakery. In our group for dinner here is some comments: Prime rib very good, pastas were not hot and alfredo sauce very bland, steak sandwich marginal with black burnt toast that the waitress took to exchange and never came back, walleye overcooked, potatoe sides were not hot. In summary, stick with the bakery and you should not be disappointed (caramel rolls were great).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrblumis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok food NOT world class Carmel rolls”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was at a wedding at grand casino hotel. Went to tobbie's to escape casino smoke and try world famous cinnamon and Carmel rolls. The rolls were nice and sweet and the Carmel was good but the bread, roll were not super fresh. We won't make the effort to stop again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisd6887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BIG n' Sweet Fresh Bakery Delights...For Sure”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We heard a lot about stopping at Tobies from friends, neighbors and relatives. We walked into the bakery and it was packed with people. The counter was five deep with customers and the workers were really moving at a fast pace from place to place. Tobies bakery is definitely worth stopping for those who want to treat themselves to something freshly baked, doughy, sweet, covered with icing/caramel/cream, etc. -- and can afford the calories. Bakery portion sizes were large. We each put on an extra pound just browsing at everything on the display shelves and in the counter ! Tobies also had a nice selection of freshly baked breads and 10-in fruit pies. We left with a $15.00 fresh blueberry pie...for a friend. :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnclelBen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobies also viewed

 

Been to Tobies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing