We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A normal casino, with AWFUL buffet...”

Grand Casino Hinckley
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Hinckley
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A normal casino, with AWFUL buffet...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I took the girlfriend up here to spend a few hours doing something different. We arent much of gamblers but casinos are fun once a year for us. The casino is a normal casino, CRAZY GAMBLING ADDICTS, SMELLS HORRIBLY OF SMOKE..EVEN THE NON SMOKING SECTION.

First off we wanted the buffet...online this joke of a place listed a prime rib special for $12.99....what a great deal! UHHHH NOPE!........We walk up the line and they have a screen that says$15.99, uh whats that all about? So when we get up to pay i say it shows online its $12.99 and she claims to know nothing about that and the price is $15.99....so we do it anyways its PRIME RIB...

So i go to grab some and it looked awful! But i still took alot to try. After cutting fat out of it for 3 minutes i got to have the 5 bites of meat left....YUCK. Tasteless as anything could be, no flavor, super cold, just like chewing on flavorless gum. So after trying all the other garbage my girlfriend and I had $34 worth of mashed potatoes and nasty fried chicken.

Awful experience, never going back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FencePert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    39
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday bash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great room rate, Buffet discount for my birthday, wanted to win the $500, but no such luck. Fun times with friends. Definately going back again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank darneberg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dec 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great variety of machines, lots of new machines but also lots of old favorites. Beverages offered often and with pleasant staff. When you hit something good staff in area say kind things and make you feel great and welcome. Well layed out and very well maintained. Does get a bit smokey when busy, and some walkers, and wheelcarts are left where others can trip but the old folks are enjoying so we get around them. We have always felt good when we leave, never with empty pockets. We set a budget and we ususally come home with some of it left unlike other casinos where you only find lint in your pocket.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pattbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I will never return here. Games are tight, food was horrible, bartending staff consistently unfriendly and almost hostile, zero customer service, just an overall depressing place that I used to enjoy. Not sure if there was a management change or what happened. Take your money to Black Bear or St. Croix Casino in Danbury.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JEBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place for a MN casino...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Like the location, but it is smokey and their rules on drinks in the casino is very confusing. It may be time to add on as weekends are crowded.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SMM55122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Casino Hinckley also viewed

 

Been to Grand Casino Hinckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing