We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and relaxing B & B.”
Review of Dakota Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dakota Lodge
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming and relaxing B & B.”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My Fiance and I stayed at the B & B for Valentine's Day weekend. When we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly hostess. She was fantastic. She showed us where we could find snacks and beverages. She then took us to our room. I loved the room we stayed in. It was very comfortable and had really unique decorating. The room had a two person jacuzzi and a wood-burning fireplace. There was also a table, couch, and private bathroom in the room. The table had an assortment of treats waiting for us. There was a small vase of flowers, cupcakes, candy, and champagne. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast with the hostess and a couple other guests. I would highly recommend the Dakota Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoregirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We have stayed at the Kettle River Cabin (part of Dakota Lodge B&B) many times in all seasons and expect to for years to come. In the summer I brought my parents up for a relaxing week to go for walks in the woods and listen to nature and reminisce. In the fall we have done "girls weekend away" and had plenty of room for playing games, potlucks and again, great walks. The casino is close and that was great also. For the last 3 winters my adult kids joined me and we had a great time playing games and everynight going out to play hide and seek in the dark and have snow ball fights and build snowmen. The cabin is cozy, with very comfortable furniture, plenty of space 6 people to spread out and be alone or be together for games or a great dinner and bonding. The beds are very comfortable and I really appreciate that I do not have to bring my own sheets and towels. Everything is always fresh and clean and I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a homey atmosthere at a great price

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We Stayed at the Kettle River cabin, that's East of Hinckley. We Wanted to get away for the weekend and view the fall colors. We found the accomadations great, and it was very private. Everything we needed was there and it was very clean. We were very pleased!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbfarm2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2009

I have already booked again for 2 more times. One with friends - girls time and one with some family members. It was quite, quaint and cozy.... I was very pleased with the decor and the cleanliness... The owners are very accomodating.. We were treated to muffins and scones....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livingthedream62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We loved Kettle River Cabin. When we arrived is was clean, warm and inviting. There were fresh cookies on the counter. I had asked for some wine and it was there when we arrived. Friends and I went up to see the fall colors. It was a great wooded area surrounded by the most colorful trees I've ever seen. Cabin was large and there was room for all 4 of us there. Lots to do in the area. We will definately go back in Winter to go snowshoeing in the park down the road. Owners very friendly and helpful with sites in the area,. Travel to Sandstone and visit the Gaslight! Great place! Could not have had a better weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnut50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We had a great stay. The proprietor was friendly, and we had a delicious breakfast delivered to our door. The room was wonderfully decorated and the hot tub was clean. The price was reasonable as well.
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Wlhen making this reservation online, the pictures looked great. We would be in a secluded Kettle Cabin on Kettle River. What a great get a way.

So, we thought. Upon arriving the place is totally run down, tall weeds, garden filled with tall grass and more weeds. Thought it was on Kettle River, no river to be found!!! Screens falling off of the windows. Smelled, felt unsafe, dirty and overall, not what we expected! Price is high to boot!

Arrived a bit after 3pm to a dirty cabin, maid had not even started. towels on the bathroom floor, bed unmade, dishes in the sink, carpet and floor flithy, laundry piled up. You get the idea. Manager, said hum, gotta find out where the hell she is. We had ordered flowers....now those were nice, but should be for $50!!!!

Needless to say, we were not about to stay, itching from no doubt fleas or something in the carpet or furniture we left just as the maid arrived with her little baby. She placed it on the floor in the living room area, put a couple of toys down and went on to the bedroom. We had not even sat on the furniture since it looked dirty and worn.

We are requesting a refund since this is total deceptive advertising. We will see what takes place but will continue to call until something is resolved! Would not recommend this place to anyone. Don't know about the B&B, perhaps that is better, but for the Kettle Cabin? Don't bother. Save your money and move on up to Two Harbours. The Superior Shores Resort is the same price and world of difference. We have a 1 bedroom, jacuzzi, full kitchen, beautiful living area, balcony overlooking Lake Superior. Could not have found a better place....same price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancetripmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DakotaLodge, Owner at Dakota Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
The guest writing this review arrived 21/2 hours early and entered the cabin before the cleaners. The pictures submitted were of the cabin before it was cleaned. Pictures of the cabin cleaned have been submitted. 3 days of high winds had just passed through our area and a few screens were loose. This was corrected immediately.

This facility has all new appliances, new front load washer and dryer, double whirlpool tub, 3 bedrooms, generously outfitted kitchen, and is freshly painted inside and out. A new roof was just put on.

The description of this cabin on our website is accurate, and does not state that it sits next to the river. At no time when she was making the reservation did she ask if it was on the water. Her only request was that she wanted privacy and seclution.

To compare a 3 bedroom cabin sitting on 16 wooded acres with a one bedroom condo in a commercial development is to compare apples to raisins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
10.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Hinckley
89 reviews
8.5 mi away
Grand Casino Hinckley
Grand Casino Hinckley
#1 of 6 in Hinckley
406 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grand Hinckley Inn
Grand Hinckley Inn
#2 of 6 in Hinckley
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Days Inn Hinckley
Days Inn Hinckley
#3 of 6 in Hinckley
284 reviews
13.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Finlayson
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Lodge

Property: Dakota Lodge
Address: 40497 State Highway 48, Hinckley, MN 55037-8419
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hinckley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hinckley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Dakota Hotel Hinckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing