We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hinckley B&B and Inns
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have lost track of how many times we have been to this B&B - it simply is the best! We have been to many other B&Bs and each time we go back to Woodland Trails, it gets harder and harder to justify trying out a different one since nothing else has met Woodland Trails standards! Every little aspect of a proper B&B experience is taken care of. The accommodations are fabulous - we have stayed in almost all of the rooms and every one is perfect! Bathrooms and rooms are clean, comfortable and every amenity is covered. Breakfast is outstanding and you are never left hungry! We love having dessert as the final breakfast course! Woodland Trails is a perfect getaway for relaxing, hiking, exploring, bird and deer watching, or just having a place to stay while shopping local area little shops. The wildlife is all around and you can see from any window. The atmosphere is perfect - elegantly comfortable. The best part is that you feel right at home -if only home was this nice! Best if you can stay several nights in a row...but if not, even one night will be a fabulous experience. Trust me, you get what you pay for...and then some!

Room Tip: All are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMA0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnOR40361, Owner at Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Wow! We am a little embarrassed to say IWe are not sure who wrote this review since we have several couples from the St. Cloud area who have been here multiple times. Nonetheless, the review is very much appreciated. It is gratifying too since we do try to ensure an outstanding experience for each guest. Thank you!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast literally puts every other B&B to shame. From the warm welcome to the scrumptious meals, John and Sandra treated us like treasured friends. With hundreds of acres of woodland and miles of private trails around lakes to enjoy, there was always something to do, if lazing about in supreme comfort didn’t fit the bill. The rooms are extremely comfortable and decorated beautifully. The sitting rooms are spacious and the decks and gardens have numerous spots for reading or conversation. Bird feeders galore pull in wildlife to watch or photograph. Breakfast was a sinfully delicious production - multiple courses filled our plates again and again.Free speedy wifi was available- although we’d recommend skipping that activity and just chilling out.
Our stay there was beyond delightful. Woodland Trails is truly a special place with wonderful people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank czych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnOR40361, Owner at Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
How nice of you to take the time to write your review! You stayed with us during your photo tour of Minnesota. As you mentioned in an email, you hope to get back here during the spring of 2015 to photograph sharp tail grouse. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our first b&b experience and I was totally impressed. Everything was beyond perfect. John and Sandra were very welcoming. Sandra made excellent breakfast, the room was beautiful and very cozy, there were extra touches everywhere I looked!! We are hooked:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnOR40361, Owner at Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We're glad you chose Woodland Trails for your first B&B experience! About a quarter of our guests have never been to a B&B before and, happily, many of them return year after year. We hope you do too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just stayed for a Saturday night and were very impressed. The house is quite roomy and welcoming, with lots of thoughtful touches everywhere. We stayed in the Aspen room and found it inviting, very clean, and quite comfortable. We had a pleasant time before going to bed stargazing from our little deck and watching the deer at the feeding station. I slept better than I had in weeks. The next morning we also thoroughly enjoyed paddling a canoe around the pond, walking a little in the woods, and exploring the rest of the many trails with a golf cart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Woodland Trails B & B is WONDERFUL on every level! John & Sandra are such gracious and entertaining hosts! The facility is very clean, comfortable and cozy (everything I wish my house will be when my 3 little ones grow up). The decor suits men and women, there is definetly a backwoods hunting motif in some areas, but Sandra's touch all over the house and especially in the guest rooms is so beautiful! The hunting stories you can get from John will keep your men entertained during breakfast and any other time you choose to spend in the very cozy common areas. The rooms are SPLENDID! Big, beautiful beds, soft warm carpets, small stoves in every room and best of all the private jacuzzi bath and also a lovely deck on each room. So romantic! Lots to do in the area for entertainment but we just loved staying around the lodge in our room, reading downstairs or visiting with other guests. Perfect weekend away for a busy stay-at-home mom! We loved it SO much that we brought our entire Small Group (4 couples) back with us the 2nd time we stayed and now we are planning a 3rd visit! Our visits were in 2007 and in 2009.

Room Tip: We haved loved both rooms we've been in and we've seen all the others. They are all lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've been here a number of times and can't say enough good things. The owners are a delightful couple who have crafted a beautiful B & B and have perfected the art of a true B & B experience. The home and individual rooms are impeccably decorated and the food prepared is delicious and ample. The owners are both great conversationalists and the grounds of their property are simply beautiful. Many deer sightings are to be expected and lots of other wildlife.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and themed differently
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinneapolisStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Woodland Trails many times. John and Sandra are the best B&B owners. The rooms are comfortable and very well appointed. The food is excellent. The amenities are the best. We love the English Billiards table, the trails, the dogs (Lady and Lucky) and all the little things that they do to make us feel at home. We have stayed in all seasons and there is plenty to do, or not do, in all of them. Thanks to John and Sandra for giving us such a wonderful place that we can return to again and again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrewJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
21.8 mi away
Grand Casino Hinckley
Grand Casino Hinckley
#1 of 6 in Hinckley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
23.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Hinckley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Hinckley Inn
Grand Hinckley Inn
#2 of 6 in Hinckley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
21.8 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
16.2 mi away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast

Property: Woodland Trails Bed and Breakfast
Address: 40361 Grace Lake Road, Hinckley, MN 55037-5337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hinckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built as a Minnesota bed and breakfast, Woodland Trails’ rustic decor, generous common areas and modern construction set it apart from restored Victorian facilities. Conveniently located on the Wisconsin border between Hinckley, MN and Danbury, WI, Woodland Trails is less than 2 hours from the Twin Cities, St. Cloud or Eau Claire, WI and just over an hour from Duluth / Superior. Women love the clean, cozy, welcoming atmosphere and innkeeper Sandra's decorating. Men love the rustic atmosphere, including a replica of Jim Jordan's world record buck hanging over the fireplace, and the many things to do both inside and outside. Woodland Trails overlooks Grace Lake Too, our private pond that offers endless bird and wildlife watching opportunities, along with canoeing and paddle boating. Our Minnesota inn is located on 500 acres of woodland with miles of private trails. Guests can enjoy a stroll around the pond or a long hike to the "back 40." From May through October, golf carts are available for touring in comfort. The perfect Minnesota vacation! Combine lodging at Woodland Trails with a visit to Grand Casino Hinckley. Outdoor activities include hiking, biking, canoeing and bird-watching. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing