We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desk staff sucked!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hibbing
Minneapolis
1 review
“Desk staff sucked!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My stay was only nice because of the friendly lady that cleaned our room! The Manager was NOT friendly at all. She made us feel as if we were troubling her by checking in. If that were my hotel she would be fired.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank booderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8hibbing, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Sorry you feel I acted like you were bothering me at check- in none of my guests are a bother I try to do what ever I can to make my guest feel comfortable.
thanks Christine Johnson
Manager hibbing super8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    29
    23
    22
See reviews for
36
15
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

unclean rooms...stank of cigarette smoke throught whole complex...not a pleasant experience!

  • Liked — outdoor plug ins
  • Disliked — everything else!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pvsenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8hibbing, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Sorry your experience was not good.We have upgrated our property we only have 5 smoking rooms and there upstairs,and we no longer allow pets. We have also upgrated our breakfast and started serving waffles and bagels . thanks Christine Johnson
Manager hibbing super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hibbing hotels

Watertown
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed there one night,room was non smoking and stank of smoke,the lobby and hallways reaked of smoke.The non smoking room stank of deoderizer to cover the smoke smell. The breakfast was stale day old (or more) donuts and cans or warm juice. The cereal was there and an old milk cooler was storing a gallon of milk. The clerk at the front desk was unkept and unfriendly. Had a friend in the side room smoking up a storm. The bed spread had yellow stains on them. Garbage was blowing around the lot when we arrived,weeds were growing around building and cig buts lying all over the outside of the building.
Not a lot of choice for motels in this town,I would not recommend staying at this dump!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Filthy smoke filled hallways and lobby
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Squibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8hibbing, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Sorry your stay was not good. We had a different manager at that time I have changed the breakfast since then, and continue to try to keep people from smoking in non- smoking rooms.Our front desk staff is well groomed ,friendly and helpful. We also have all new bedspreads,carpet in rooms and curtains. Thanks Christine Johnson
Manager super 8 hibbing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is not a place for people who are sensitive to smoke. The lobby, stairs, and halls smelled of stale smoke. They only have one table (in the middle of the tiny lobby) for their standard cold breakfast. There's a McDonald's across the highway which is handy. One night we had a note stating we would not have maid service the next day. I did return to our room to get something the next day and there were maids working, but none came to our room. Weird, but we did ok without maid service for one day out of the five we were there.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Clemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

The biggest complaint here would be the efforts made during construction to keep sound isolated between the rooms and hallways.

I was on the second floor and like the other reviews mentioned, sound tends resonated easily here. Each foot step reminded me to be light on my toes out of respect for the people (if anyone) below me. A hockey team arrived around 11pm and they weren't even necessarily that loud- they weren't shouting but I could hear every word they said and every bang of their equipment against the wall as they walked through the halls to their rooms.

The entire hotel has a bit of a smoke stench to it.

On the plus side, the recliner was comfortable, it was clean from what I could see, and the TV was nicer than I expected, a flat tube with a/v inputs on the front and a good selection of channels available.

  • Liked — Wi-Fi Internet
  • Disliked — Excess sound between rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8hibbing, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Sorry about the excess sounds between rooms. The building is an older construction so your going to have that problem. I have had good responses on how quite the motel is at night .
Thanks Christine Johnson
Manager Hibbing super 8
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2007

Adequate Super 8. There are few places to stay in Hibbing. (The nicer motels seem to be in Eleveth/Virginia). As another person noted, the construction of this Super 8 is particularly cheap, as are many of the older Super 8's. My suggestion is to stay on the top floor, so the sounds from the unit above can't be heard. I always bring earplugs anyway.

The breakfast is particularly limited... no hot cereals, no juices, no fruit. And at $59.00 per nite (corporate rate) is is not much of a good value either. (The Super 8 in Eveleth is much nicer.)

On the plus side, everything seemed rather clean and neat.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank billywilliams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

There aren't many choices when staying in the Hibbing area and Super 8's are supposed to be somewhat the same no matter where one goes. This one is much different than the usual Super 8 Motel. Staff were smoking in the room adjacent to the front desk and with the door open the entire lobby reeked of cigarette smoke. Another family member stayed the first night and then we arrived to stay the 2nd night in the same room. The room key was left laying on the check in counter with no one in sight! Amazing lack of security. Once in the room we realized that all that was done to the room was new towels. Beds weren't made, crumbs on the floor, bathroom not cleaned.
The breakfast offered in the morning was a jug of milk (sitting in a broken milk dispenser machine), cereals and a few donuts. For juice you have to go and stand at the front desk and then ask for juice, and they will give you a small can of juice. Odd.
If you need a place near Hibbing, try the Chisholm Inn and Suites. We've stayed there and it will be our first choice. VERY nice place in Chisholm, just a 7 mile drive from Hibbing.

  • Liked — It was in Hibbing.
  • Disliked — Strong smell of smoke in lobby and hallway, not soundproof, poor breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linenminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8hibbing, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Sorry about your stay you were here under different management.We clean all rooms and have changed the breakfast area the staff does not smoke inside the building at all. our only smoking rooms are upstairs and we only have 5.We do not leave any ones keys on the desk if were not at the desk we have a note on desk to dial 0 and we will come right up.and we have cameras which the monitor is in our room so we see everything going on in the building.
thanks Christine Johnson
Manager Super 8 Hibbing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hibbing
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hibbing
Hampton Inn Hibbing
#1 of 4 in Hibbing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
18.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
19.9 mi away
Pine View Inn
Pine View Inn
#2 of 4 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing
Address: 1411 East 40th Street, Hibbing, MN 55746 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hibbing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hibbing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibbing Super Eight
Hibbing Super 8
Super 8 Hibbing
Super Eight Hibbing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing