We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good for a "chain" restaurant....”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Hermantown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
MN
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quite good for a "chain" restaurant....”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We received a gift certificate to Outback and decided to give it a try. Arriving for lunch, we each had a "two for" lunch special, and had salads and a half sandwich (many choices; we both chose the roast beef/French dip). For a chain restaurant, the salads were fresh and nicely done; the dressings made 'in house'. The sandwiches featured thick-cut prime rib, with cheese and onion, with just a smattering of French fries. All were quite delicious for the price ($9-something), and a mini-loaf of (spongy) bread was delivered as well.
The food was better than either of us expected for a 'chain' enterprise; surprisingly tasty and reasonably priced. We will visit again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

great food, great service, great atmosphere for a great price. fantastic, need i say more :D

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank twinkledparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service and it never disappoints”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Excellent food, great menu options. Great steak. Actually the best plan for steak in the area!!! Fast service and friendly staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twinkledparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
576 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Good first time visit...”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was my wife and my first visit to one of these restaurants. The atmosphere is very interesting and clearly centered on one central theme, which is nice to see. The service was a little slow and refills were harder to get than a regularly but the food made up for it! The food was way better than I expected, would defiantly go back if I get the chance.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nicest server we've had in ages and wonderful food”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We just returned from a short roadtrip for fun and had a lovely "early bird" dinner experience at this restaurant. Our server, John, was so pleasant and helpful and downright fun to talk to. He kept and eye on his other customers but was over the top attentive to us. He answered all questions, made suggestions, and all the while with a wonderful smile on his face. Our coconut shrmip appetizer was perfect, with a delicious dip. They also bring you a tasty little loaf of dark bread and butter...good! Our two for one cocktails for happy hour were fine. Our main course was tasty and temperature appropriate. My husband had a yummy chicken with mushrooms and cheese and I had soup and a great wedge salad. The decor is clean and rustic looking. Very pleased with our whole experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeaninelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing