We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable but chintzy”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valu Stay Inn & Suites Hastings
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hastings
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Acceptable but chintzy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Spent 4 nights here. The room was clean where it counted but a better vacuum would improve the rug. Beds were very comfortable. A/C worked fine. Towels are minimalist and dingy. Actually bought my own for $4 at Target that was much better. Breakfast needs improvement. No cups for coffee or juice the first day. Only white bread for toast. OJ was acceptable the first 2 days, watered down to undrinkable the third day, and by the fourth morning the juice dispenser was filled only with water--and this was at 7:45 a.m.
Was surprised to have payment requested up front, when I checked in. Not just a credit card hold, but the entire bill. This is a Mom&Pop run hotel and a bit more attention to hospitality would improve things considerably.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anotherhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

There is no elevator, so ask for a room on the first floor. The rooms on the first floor are also larger, at least the non-smoking ones are. No lobby area to hang out in. Free breakfast is best skipped entirely. Go to Perkins just down the street. There is a charge for internet service. Minimal bath amenities: one bar of soap & shampoo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Now Regency Inn and Suites. Great rate of $49 (internet special) Nice room, bathroom clean but carpet needed vacuuming, comfy bed. Good stop on the Great River Road.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

The rooms were inexpensive ($55/ night on the weekend), so I was a little apprehensive pulling up and seeing one car in the parking lot and noticing it was owned by middle easterners.

However, we were pleasantly surprised - very clean, smelled good, modern TV, newer furniture, average bed, shampoo, soap, coffee maker, in room.

  • Liked — Speedy wireless internet, quiet, clean
  • Disliked — front desk workers difficult to communicate with (foreign)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
18.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
15.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Inver Grove Heights/Minneapolis
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
18.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valu Stay Inn & Suites Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valu Stay Inn & Suites Hastings

Property: Valu Stay Inn & Suites Hastings
Address: 2450 Vermillion St, Hastings, MN 55033-3958 (Formerly Deluxe Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Valu Stay Inn & Suites Hastings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Valu Stay Inn & Suites Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing