We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk through Hastings and along Mississippi River”
Review of Historic Downtown

Historic Downtown
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A nice walk through Hastings and along Mississippi River”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I live only 60 minutes from Hastings, England so regular visit, so the chance to visit Hastings, Minnesota was something I could not resist whilst in Minneapolis on business. The roads to Hastings were easy to navigate. Hastings main street was full of lovely Antique shops which I totally enjoyed and then also took a small path down to the Mississippi river where I saw a memorial to fallen soldiers of many wars and enjoyed seeing the river in full flow. I would recommend Hastings for those looking for traditional sidewalks and lovely Antique shops. Great little bar as well the Busted Nut and Grill! "love that name!"

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LifewithWesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“quaint”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited a number of shops in historic downtown Hastings. A good place to browse for antiques. We enjoyed Lah Tee Dah for clothing options. Unfortunately, we arrived late in the afternoon on Saturday so some places had already closed. I hope this downtown can survive the big franchises farther down the road.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank europewithKellynRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great town for a weekend visit”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Cute, small downtown definitely worth visiting for an afternoon. There are a few few cute shops and restaurants. We walked along the river and stopped to watch the lift bridge go up and a big barge go through. My kids loved watching all the boats on the river. We ate lunch on a restaurant patio overlooking the river. Nice and relaxing day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice river town for 2-3 hour visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Hastings has a nice variety of antique stores and a very pleasant park and boat launch below Dam Number 2. Park near the dam for a vigorous 3 mile loop hike past the dam and a Bald Eagle nest, an old cemetery, Lake Rebecca, and a wide expanse of backwater. Walk takes best part of an hour with one hill to climb. Great for birders and walkers of all types. Downtown has some fairly average restaurants, a great pottery store with locally made pottery and great examples of Mexican casa grandes pottery. Several of the antique stores are very good and always worth visitIng.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wildchough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute Quiet Town”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I'm a sucker for historic downtowns and Hastings has done a great job of preserving theirs. Tucked in neatly on the banks of the Mississippi river the historic downtown sits just below the river bridge. There are plenty of cozy little shops, great breakfast joints and a number of hometown bars that feature great beer selections and awesome live music.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing