We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Walleye Enchiladas are amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Me & Julio

Me & Julio
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Southwestern, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a brand new resturaunt in Hastings. This is the YELP URL for further information. http://www.yelp.com/biz/me-and-julio-hastings
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
“The Walleye Enchiladas are amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

All of the food is great at Me and Julio's. One of the only restaurants in town that uses fresh ingredients in almost everything the make. That might not sound like a big deal but you will notice the difference right away when comparing this to a chain restaurant. The dining out selection in Hastings is pretty terrible so this and Las Margaritas are two of the best places to eat. Also, the refried beans are the best I have ever had, a must try!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hustonville, KY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We wouldn't return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Close between Poor and Average. It was right next to our hotel so it would have been nice to have been good enough to go to more than once. It isn't really Mexican, and I am sorry, but popcorn instead of chips is just cheap. To get chips and salsa will cost you. We got a triple dip appetizer that was pretty good. The taco salad was just ok (the shell was inedible), a burrito was good but dry, and the chalupa was tough. The service was less than attentive. The prices were a little too high. There didn't seem to be a lot of choices in town, but we found other places for the other 3 nights we were there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Please don't leave Hastings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

One of our favorite spots in Hastings. We've been there several times now, absolute fan of the nacho bar and free popcorn! The interior is much different than anything else in Hastings, which is a nice touch.

The food is good and we can't wait to try more things off the menu. They do big, American twists on Mexican food, as well as some traditional American dishes as well. Feels like you plopped down on the border and get to choose between the two countries, or mix them up.

Have never had issues with service; in fact, they're usually super-friendly and end up knowing people in common.

I'd rank them as one of my favorite Hastings restaurants, will definitely be back for many visits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeromesch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Mysterious Sangria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were in search of an afternoon appetizer and Sangria. We stopped at Me & Julio and sat outside which was fun and entertaining with the people playing games on the patio. We ordered Chips & Salsa (good), Walleye Taquitos (delicious), and a pitcher of Sangria. The Sangria arrived pink and unmixed...and because of the pitcher design, there was no way to mix it with a spoon. We'll go back...but skip the Sangria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Been there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Went there with three sibs. Don't order the fish taco, and the large Burrito was nothing to brag about.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jbkulstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Me & Julio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing