We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Formations, But Great "Heights"”
Review of Niagara Cave

Niagara Cave
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Harmony
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mabank, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lack of Formations, But Great "Heights"”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I love caves. This one is different from the caves in the southern states. Niagara is very deep and sometimes very narrow. Lots of stairs. Everyone was winded when they reached the entrance again. The most interesting thing about this cave is that the fractures that you walk through have dozens of feet of air above you. At one point the guide told us that even though the passage opening was only 5 feet wide, it extended up 150 feet above our heads. There was a "river" running through the cave. Few formations--not at all like the limestone caverns covered with sparkling crystals--but definitely worth seeing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    53
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting natural attraction”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We took the tour. Read the website, it has great tips like bring a sweater because its cold. Lots of stairs to walk up at the end.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd time as good as 1st!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a rainy day in Harmony so we decided to return for a second visit. Our kids enjoyed it jusr as much as the 1st time. We also went to Behind the Looking Glass, an Amish furniture store located right across the road from the cave. Truly authentic made furiture made in MN. Be sure to visit his little showroom, you will not regret it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MomofSix94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Niagara Cave Tour”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This a really nice smaller cave that actually has a waterfall in it. Since we visited in the fall the waterfall was much smaller than it is in the summer but it was still a really nice walk. As others have warned there are quite a few stairs but it is easily walkable with only a few tight spots and areas that if you are tall you'd need to duck. Our guide was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable when someone in the group asked a question. The little wedding chapel was adorable! We shopped at the gift shop after the tour and picked up a few rocks and other items to take home for gifts. our guide was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. The entire tour takes about an hour and yes, it really is in the 40s when you get in the cave so don't forget a jacket and maybe even some gloves :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cute cave”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Cute place to visit, had lots of fossils inside the cave and some interesting formations. With a name like Niagara I had hoped for a larger water fall, but it was maybe 8 inches across. They warn you to use the hand rails and I agree, it is pretty slippery, so wear sturdy shoes and a jacket! If you have knee problems you may want to pass 250 steps down make the 250 steps back up tough! They have putt putt golf and a play ground for the kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Niagara Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing