We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Niagara Cave Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Niagara Cave

Niagara Cave
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Harmony
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Altoona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Niagara Cave Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This a really nice smaller cave that actually has a waterfall in it. Since we visited in the fall the waterfall was much smaller than it is in the summer but it was still a really nice walk. As others have warned there are quite a few stairs but it is easily walkable with only a few tight spots and areas that if you are tall you'd need to duck. Our guide was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable when someone in the group asked a question. The little wedding chapel was adorable! We shopped at the gift shop after the tour and picked up a few rocks and other items to take home for gifts. our guide was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. The entire tour takes about an hour and yes, it really is in the 40s when you get in the cave so don't forget a jacket and maybe even some gloves :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    51
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cute cave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Cute place to visit, had lots of fossils inside the cave and some interesting formations. With a name like Niagara I had hoped for a larger water fall, but it was maybe 8 inches across. They warn you to use the hand rails and I agree, it is pretty slippery, so wear sturdy shoes and a jacket! If you have knee problems you may want to pass 250 steps down make the 250 steps back up tough! They have putt putt golf and a play ground for the kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really liked this cave. The tour was interesting and entertaining. My husband and I like rocks, fossils and history and this cave gave a good mix of those things. I'd also suggest stopping by the Vistors Center in Harmony (on the way to the cave), they had some maps and other info that better prepared me to visualize the way the cave was formed and had some local area history as well. Our 4 year old also came along, but my husband did carry her on his shoulders most of the time. She enjoyed it, she just didn't want to walk the whole time, plus it was easier to make sure she wasn't touching everything (since you're not allowed to).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FootballFangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ok Place to visit with natural AC 48 F around the year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ok Place to visit with natural AC 48 F around the year. I did not like this place much though. It is just ok - Kids will not even enjoy much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Niagara Cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two hundred fifty stairs take visitors down 200 feet to passage ways and formations. It's named Niagara after the narrow waterfall within. The guided tour is about 45 minutes and fascinating. With electricity throughout it's lit well enough to be safe, although it's advised to hang on to the railings. Our group, aged 6-78 had no problem. Dress warm; it's 47 degrees year round.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Niagara Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing