We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”
Review of Niagara Cave

Niagara Cave
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Harmony
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The cave tour is well done, takes about an hour and all ages will be impressed with the beauty of this site.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IowaMjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    53
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I felt so tiny surrounded by those rocks!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I visited this cave with friends on the same day following our Mystery Cave tour (Preston, MN). I find it hard to compare them since they feel so different. The Mystery Cave tour had better lighting than the Niagara Cave (and less steps). However, Niagara Cave has a really nice waterfall inside it (hence the name), and it feels much more vast (think narrow but very tall). There weren't as many of the stalactites, stalagmites, columns, etc, in the Niagara cave compared to the Mystery Cave tour. However, just the rock formations & shapes themselves were really impressive. It reminded me of the sandstone rock formations that I've seen in photos of places in Utah/Nevada/Arizona. It makes one feel so insignificant, surrounded by these impressively tall formations.

Price for this tour was $11.88/adult, and they even gave us a Mayo Clinic employee discount (approx 20% off). There was free parking, a very nice-sized gift shop (I got some pretty inexpensive jewelry from there), and tours seemed to leave about every 15 min. The tour is about 1 mile total in length, lasting 1 hour, and there are quite a few steps (not a problem going down them while starting the tour, but on the return trip... some huffing & puffing). There even was a (tiny) wedding chapel inside the cave, where people can get married (that is, if your guest list is not much bigger than 20).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaEC_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great visit for a rainy day!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had actually planned to bike on the root river bike trail, but it rained a lot, so we decided to visit the Niagara Cave. We liked it a lot and it was a good activity for a rainy day. The tour is about an hour, with a couple of stairs you have to go up and down.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteandHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very big cave. Enjoyed it a lot. We plan to come back to do the longer 4 hour tour going deeper into the cave. They give you a lot of information about the cave. Easy walking until the end walking back up the stairs just take your time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience a whole other world without leaving Minnesota”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful cave formations that look like they belong to another planet, stalactites, stalagmites, a tall waterfall and more await visitors to the cave. There is even a wedding chapel for those who would want to get married underground. A heads-up, though: there are a LOT of steps to take going down, so be prepared to be short of breath going back up. It is worth the many steps it takes to venture through the cave, the highlight of which is going into a "room" where light does not exist at all. Talk about pitch, black darkness! The natural formations inside the cave are definitely eye candy for the beholder.

Helpful?
1 Thank ymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Niagara Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing