We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous food”
Review of QUARTER/quarter - CLOSED

QUARTER/quarter
Price range: $4 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Serving an eclectic mix of small plates, appetizers and desserts in addition to our beer and wine list in the Wine Bar. Chef's Tasting Menus available in the Main Dining Room.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fabulous food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Order the mushroom ravioli; it is superb. Great service; surprisingly uncrowded on a week night around meal time. American cuisine with more sophisticated preparation than what you expect in the middle of bluffland farm country.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    10
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST KEPT SECRET IN SW MINNESOTA”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively across the country both for our employment and pleasure. In our estimation we have yet to encounter such a restaurant as Quarter/Quarter for menu/price/ambience. From the greeting received at the door to a visit with the chef/owner the time spent is a real "treat." We will definitely return again and again as we have family in Lanesboro, Mn. When you are in SW Minnesota I highly recommend a trip to Quarter/Quarter for a most delightful evening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank duke-duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Gourmet Gem”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This restaurant was a delightful find. Gourmet dishes, beautifully presented in a contemporary, lively setting. We had a pork dish, Swedish meatballs, and an asparagus appetizer. All excellent.

Prices were less than the equivalent dining experience in the Twin Cities. They encourage payment by check or cash to help keep their costs down, but they do accept credit cards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband had the steak and ranked it one of the best ever. I was pleased with shrimp creole. And the coconut dessert was very special. While Harmony is known for being the heart of Minnesota's Amish country, this place is worth stopping to treat yourself. Contemporary feel with incredible food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
227 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Worth going out of our way for a visit”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is worth finding. Located in the southeastern Minnesota, Harmony is the center of an Amish community; not too far from Lanesboro. QUARTER/quarter is located on a side street in the little town.

The food was excellent – when feasible, they use local ingredients. The service was good – they were courteous, were at the tableside constantly filling water glasses, and asking if they could do more. The atmosphere was contemporary in an area where supper clubs are the norm.

We tried a number of items on the menu. For appetizers we tried their Seafood Cakes, which were tender and delicious. The side salad had a light vinaigrette and was a perfect complement to the Seafood Cakes. The soup of the week was a cream of mushroom soup, also excellent. For the main course we had the Swedish style meatball dinner and Fettuccine Stroganoff – both excellent. The portions are substantial, so be prepared to come hungry or bring some home.

When in the area, we would definitely like to stop again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aerete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QUARTER/quarter also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing