We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly A Grand Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhaven Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Starhaven Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Truly A Grand Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the moment you walk in the door you know you are in for something special here. Hosts Ian and Rob have truly provided a 5 star getaway nestled on the foreshore of Indented Head. With beautiful views over the port to Melbourne's cityscape and a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle this is a must visit for a night away from it all.
With luxury from top to bottom, and exemplary service I can't recommend Starhaven highly enough.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Starhaven Retreat, and such a glowing one at that. We really appreciate your recommendation. We get huge satisfaction in knowing you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
127
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had a lovely time at starheaven. The guys were so helpful and welcoming and made us feel at home from the first minute. Would deffo recommend to anyone and are currently looking into booking again. Many thanks Ryan&Blair

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlairFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for elevating us to "Starheaven" status. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Starhaven Retreat. Hope you found some nice vintage pieces at the markets on your way home, you can tell us all about it on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were greeted and treated so warmly upon arrival and throughout our stay at this wonderful B&B with the most amazing facilities such as an actual gold class cinema, a sauna, massive spa pool and a cute little dog named Sparky! Starhaven has an incredible view and is just bathed in light in almost the entire house. Thankyou for cooking us a delicious breakfast each morning and the best (and biggest) candlelit anniversary dinner, which was more than any expectation we had (and it was high!). Did I mention they were on grand design? Wonderful job fellas!! Everything was just fantastic!! I am currently recommending to everyone I know! Jana

Room Tip: The Haven suite has an in room steam room, adjustable bedding and a fireplace! Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana_Chu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so very much for your fabulous review. It always brings us joy to read we have made your stay a memorable one. It was a great honour to help you celebrate your anniversary. We hope to see you again for your next anniversary, if not sooner. I promise to stop by your cafe soon, so that I may return the favor. Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were very happy with the facilities and service we found at the Starhaven retreat.
By the end of the first night we were fully wound down due to taking advantage of the spa, sauna, movie theater and bar.
Ian and Rob's hospitality was impeccable, and we were impressed with the quality of the breakfast in the morning.
Add to this, the decor, artwork, the elevator, city views across the harbor and Sparky.
Bravo Starhaven. I will recommend you to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We cant thank you enough for choosing Starhaven Retreat and for your wonderful review. It is such a joy to read your feedback. Your recommendations are so invaluable to us as a new fledgling B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home from what only can be described as 24 hours of pure indulgence. It was a spur of the moment decision to spend a night away and after a couple of hours searching the Internet looking for luxury boutique accommodation we struck the JACKPOT when we stumbled across Starhaven retreat. Lucky for us there was availability for the next night. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Ian and Rob and shown around the house. We were blown away by the 15 seat gold class cinema, indoor swim spa, sauna and steam room- you have unlimited access for your entire stay.Amazing views from every window. Our room had its own infinity spa, double shower and steam room, plus gorgeous gas fire, 2 flat screen TV's with Foxtell and movies on demand. You could even indulge in a movie from that amazing spa, whilst sipping the complementary wine that greets you on arrival. After dinner we sat in the gorgeous red chairs in the bar area which was fully stocked.We had a great evening chatting to Robert and Ian whilst sipping Baileys and the newly learnt cosmopolitans- yes nothing was too much trouble "we'll google how to make a Cosmo" and it was perfect. This is an amazing high tech home, where nothing has been forgotten no expense spared. We travel often and the only other place that we've stayed that matches this on indulgence, quality and service is the Intercontinental Resort and Spa in Fiji. Our hosts didn't intrude in our space at all,if you don't want to converse you don't have to, Rob and Ian are quietly pottering around in the back ground, they are there if you need them or want a chat, but unseen if that's what you desire. For us we were on a stolen 24 hours away from the kids but enjoyed the time we spent learning about the story behind starhaven and a little of the hosts too. We highly recommend starhaven although I secretly want to keep it all to ourselves. So if you thinking of a trip to the Bellarine book Now as we believe it'll become so popular that it'll be hard to secure a booking! Oh I forgot to mention the amazing breakfast....just delicious and HUGE.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-wanderes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Happy Wanderers, thank you so much for your glowing review. As you predicted we have been quite busy here at Starhaven Retreat and you have returned for another stay before we could thank you here on Tripadvisor. You have given us the biggest compliment by being our very first return guests. It was a pleasure meeting your whole family upon your return. We can't thank you enough. Ian & Rob & Sparky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadford, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a great place to stay. The room had it all - from a beautiful spa bath and steam shower to the individual adjusting of firmness and position of the king size bed. On demand movies, gas log fire and turning lights on and off at a touch of a button. Lovely hosts and a wonderful cooked breakfast, views to die for all in an relaxed setting. You really couldn’t ask for anything else! Thank you so much for making our holiday fantastic! We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing - you can't go wrong by holiday here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy we could make your stay with us here at Starhaven Retreat a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

From the time we starting planning our romantic getaway, to the booking process, all the way through our actual stay until our departure, Ian and Rob always provided impeccable customer service and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was comfortable and memorable. Starhaven is a truly beautiful home in a stunning location, close to two of Victoria's most charming coastal towns. Our suite certainly lived up to its 4.5 star rating easily - huge, comfy bed, beautiful big bathroom.. And having the theatre room, enormous spa & sauna room as well as a well stocked "games room" with a warm fire to complete the atmosphere we were definitely staying in a "haven"!! We have already booked our next stay at Starhaven & are encouraging all our family & friends to put it on their "to do" lists too!! Thank you Ian & Rob for the perfect stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DZTNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Owner at Starhaven Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Starhaven Retreat and writing such a fantastic review. We look forward to your return and meeting the whole family. It was a true pleasure sharing this magnificent spot of the Bellarine with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indented Head
9.7 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
18.7 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Sands
Pelican Sands
#1 of 4 in Portarlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oxley Estate Bed & Breakfast
The Oxley Estate Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Portarlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bellarine Day Spa & Retreat
Bellarine Day Spa & Retreat
#1 of 8 in Portarlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhaven Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhaven Retreat

Property: Starhaven Retreat
Address: 13 Calimo Pl, Indented Head, Victoria 3223, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Indented Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Indented Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhaven Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starhaven Retreat, an internationally acclaimed home, as seen on Grand Designs Australia, offers stylish accommodation. The ideal choice to stay, meet & relax with a difference. Its beachside location offers stunning surrounds with fantastic views across the bay to Melbourne. Relax in the spa & sauna or simply enjoy a drink & movie in the starlit cinema. "You should be here!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Starhaven Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing