We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place for a hockey team stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center

Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Stillwater, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent place for a hockey team stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We were really hesitant to check in after reading reviews of this property from last year but after a two-night stay by two of our hockey teams and their families (pee wee and bantams), I think most of the group agreed that it was a decent place - overpriced, however, for the few amenities made available to guests. Sort of Country Inn and Suites amenities for alot more money and alot fewer staff people to help out. The property and the rooms are beautiful, the pool and sauna were open and great for the kids, and a very simple continental breakfast was served both mornings (no on-site restaurant or bar). Food wasn't anything great but it filled 30+ kids sufficiently (scrambled eggs and sausage, milk, juice, coffee, cereals, convenience store danishes and those tiny waxy donuts, toaster waffles). Two people staffing the lodge were pleasant and helpful, although probably overworked for the size of our group. The property suffers from lack of maintenance in things like room window locks, outdoor key card readers access (looked to be ripped off the lodge wall outside), lack of hangers, no mirror over a sink where a mirror should be, computer system fritzing at checkout, etc.., but it was a sufficient and pleasant place to house our boys and families for a winter weekend. Not sure it would be that way if you were one of only a few rooms that were staying there for any evening or weekend, but with our group they did rise to the occasion. The property has such potential, it's a shame that owner doesn't do something more with it. The Grand Rapids area is so beautiful and this could be a gem with some investment and promotion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    4
    16
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

The rooms were nice, fairly clean but that was the end of it. Stayed 6 nights, only one breakfast was served and by 9am it was gone before we got there. No other breakfasts were served the rest of our stay. No one is at the front desk after 4pm. We were locked out of our room the 3rd night and had to wake up the son in law to get us in our room. The last night we were there we were locked out again. We had returned to our room at 7pm and could not get in. They have two numbers at the front desk to call. One is for the son in law and the other is for the owner, of which both live in the hotel. No one answered so we left, thinking maybe they were out to dinner, we returned later and no one would answer. We spent an hour calling and knocking on their doors. The owner was there in room 114. You can enter his room from inside and outside. His window was open and tv was on. When we knocked at his door he turned his tv off. We called the police who also called his room and left him a message. In the end we ended up going to another hotel at midnight and checking in. Dirty with no clean clothes or Pj's and we have a little one who turned 3 two wks earlier! The next day we could not wait to get our things and NEVER look back. The owner said it was not his problem and blamed his front desk staff and left! Do not walk away from this hotel, run like h---!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Based on the website, this would be great place to vacation and serve as home base while visiting relatives. However, the website is a FRAUD. There is no restaurant/bar, the 6-10 a.m. breakfast does not exist, there are no front desk personnel during the hours 1730 hours to 0900 hours, the room air conditioning is eradict and the premises are generally unkept (cigarette butts are everywhere). This place gives Grand Rapids a very bad name; next time I will stay in Deer River.

Room Tip: eradict air conditioning. no towel service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

I wish I had read the reviews before we booked two nights here for a wedding! The website looks beautiful...and it's a beautiful lodge from the outside. Unfortunately, the inside has been neglected and the place is run down. Our room had stains on the carpet and smelled like a wet pool towel. The rest of the room appeared to be clean. The brochure said there was a restaurant next door and a 24hour convenience store at the front desk. However the restaurant was permanently closed and the front desk didn't have even water or a toothbrush. Also my 8 year old daughter nearly fell out the second story window when she leaned her head on the screen and it fell out. Echoing a previous writer, the sauna had no door knob...not sure it even worked. The pool shower and bathroom was FILTHY. The breakfast areasaws dirty and I wouldnt let my family eat there so we went out instead. Word of advice-stay away!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahtomedigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

The management should be embarrassed by the condition of the golf course. They have an August deal for $1 a hole - and I still felt ripped off. There is virtually no grass on the tee boxes and the greens looked like that haven't been watered in weeks. The rough is so long, you'd swear you're playing in the US Open. You're better of playing at Eagle Ridge.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank GolfGuy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Room was not clean, oven was so dirty it nearly set off smoke alarms. Our friends fridge had mold growing in it.

Pool had so much chlorine it made my kids eyes nearly bled. Sanua door handle was missing, leaving a hole in the door so it couldn't even get close to hot enough for a sanua. No towels in pool area, management said they don't have enough and will try to get some later. A couple burnt out lights in the pool area made it very dark. Internet did not work but I didn't even bother complaining, wouldn't have been worth the hassle, I gave up!

This place looks great from the outside but is a disaster once you get in. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coreyinkato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Booked a two night stay 3 months prior to our trip to Wendigo. First night was just okay, nothing to brag about. Second day our key cards were turned off early afternoon for all three rooms that we booked and there was no desk attendant at the check in desk to get the key cards turned back on. Called all 5-6 phone numbers listed on a sheet of paper at the front desk and left messages for assistance and not a sole returned our calls. We finally had to reprogram our own key cards to get back in our rooms after we waited approx. 5 hours for someone. They never did return our phone calls nor come to the hotel to help us out. I could go on forever with the terrible service at Wendigo but I don't have time and not enough space. The hotel was left open with no attendant or any type of staff on duty from early to mid-afternnon on our second day through the entire night.
DON'T STAY AT WENDIGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank diane_hasbargen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Wendigo Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 20108 Golf Crest Rd, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4786
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Wendigo Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing