We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town feel”

Dottie's Hometown Cafe
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small town feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very small town feel but great home meal cooking. Great staff and service. If you go for breakfast get the worlds biggest cinnamon roll i have ever seen.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DellsLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great choice for fish fry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is mostly a breakfast and lunch place (they usually close at 3pm), but they're open 'till 8 on Fridays when they have the all-you-can-eat fish (walleye). Comes with choice of salad or soup, and the servers are great about checking to see if you want more fish, unlike some places which seem to try to wait you out until you give up. The clam chowder was flavorful. It was the thick version, which is so popular (and not quite as good as the classic thin chowder), but still very tasty. Seemed a popular place with local folks. Very glad circled back to go there, and would stop again if passing through Grand Rapids.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The food was really good! We are a big group and usually have a hard time finding a table big enough for all of us. We called before we got there told them there would be 10 of us. We showed up and they already had a table ready for us. Food was good! We will defiantly be having breakfast there again next year on are way back out of town!!

Helpful?
1 Thank meko0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Grand Rapids Homestyle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Wonderful local flavor if you are visiting this popular summer town. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast of eggs Benedict and tender pancakes. Staff is friendly and our pleasant hostess, Deanna, took time to chat with us a bit. It is nice to dine where the natives gather and this is one of those places. I would go here if visiting again since it is fun to see the employees interact with the regulars. You can tell they have frequented this place for years.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bymollyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Dottie's is open for breakfast and lunch every day and for Friday night's fish fry. Breakfast is always delicious and the service is very good. This place is popular with the locals. We often take visiting friends there for meals and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dottie's Hometown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dottie's Hometown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing