We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw Mill Inn in Grand Rapids, MN”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Blackduck, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Saw Mill Inn in Grand Rapids, MN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

My husband and I checked into our hotel. They had the old fashion key not a card. We left to go to the hot tub for half hour or so. Then I came back to order a pizza and that's when someone came in and took all of our money. They took money out of my husbands wallet and out of his front pants pocket and my purse. It was $950 worth. When we called the front desk they were upset with us for saying that their house cleaner took our money. She was cleaning the room next to ours and was watching us very closely. There was lots of windows so she could see us in the hot tub. They were very rude to us. We wouldn't never go back to that place!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kellgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    19
    23
    26
See reviews for
42
14
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

Great decor and physical character, but the most consistentently uncaring staff at any of the fifty or so hotels I have stayed at in the last year. This iconic hotel is doomed unless it picks up it's act. I stayed in a very cold room with poor plumbing and ate bar food that was more expensive than the excellent food I ate at the Sheraton in Duluth the night before.

In every contact with staff I was made feel like they were doing me a favor by helping me. Poor, unreliable internet access with no in-room instructions. I have a strong connection to Northern MN so was inclined to embrace this place but had worst hotel experience in the one years in travel across the US, UK, Greece and the Middle East. Does not deserve it's current Trip Advisor rating.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — T/he attitude of the staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Boroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Rapids hotels

Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

I travel for my job, and whenever I get sent to Grand Rapids, I try to stay at the Sawmill. It's an older property, but the resteraunt is very good, the staff is excellent, and they have a REAL pool -spacious with a 9 ft deep end, and they used to have a springboard before we weren't considered able to care for our own safety by some regulator somewhere - anyway, it beats those glorified bathtubs at the chains by a mile. The pool area is indoor and is very spacious, a hot tub there also as others have noted.

Then the woodwork throughout is gorgeous - the hand carved reliefs at the front desk and lobby area are amazing.

Have stayed there sine 1996. Going back this weekend.

  • Liked — Pool, restaraunt, staff, woodwork
  • Disliked — rooms slightly worn, but clean
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BumpTestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

While the rooms are average hotel rooms, there were several things that made the Sawmill Inn a very good place to stay:

First: the service was exceptional. It started with Devron the Sales and Catering manager who helped us put together a golf package for four days. In addition, all the hotel employees were very friendly and service oriented .... everyone from the front desk staff, the cleaning staff and restaurant staff.

Second: It's a great location ... right off of Hwy 169. Getting anywhere was easy.

Third: The Sawmill Inn has a pool and whirlpool. Our room was poolside with it's own entrance from the parking lot. We liked both having our own entrance when coming and going and easy access to the pool.

We'll stay at the Sawmill Inn again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — Old carpeting on the floor of the room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for just 1 night. They were very accommodating as we had to at last minute bring our little dog w/us. (NO exta charge) The hotel was packed w/hockey, snowmobilers and skijumpers but it was GREAT! A little over priced, but probably just high season being winter in Northern MN. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

What a great place to vacation. The location is great. The staff is wonderful and the price was right. Very clean. They offer a guest laundry. I would stay there again.The pool area was very clean also.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2005

Upon arriving in Grand Rapids, we were sent to a hotel which was not at all acceptable. We then saw the Sawmill Inn across the way and gave them a call. They were extremely hospitable. The staff was very friendly and the Inn was absolutely impecable! We loved our stay there. They even let us check in a few hours early because we had a handicapped person in our party. They gave us a room on the 1st floor, which was right next to an entrance so this person did not have too far to walk. I recommend the Sawmill 100%. Their rates were right in the ballpark with the others and the service, cleanliness and building upkeep far-exceeded the other hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.1 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#6 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids

Property: Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids
Address: 2301 S. Pokegama Ave., Grand Rapids, MN 55744-9521
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawmill Inn of Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a backdrop of timber, near area lakes and a lodge like feel, the Sawmill Inn Hotel and Conference Center will make your stay comfortable & relaxing as well as affordable.Over the years, we have attained a widespread reputation for first class dining, extraordinary customer service, quality and value. Approximately 100 full and part time people are employed at the Sawmill Inn, many have been with us for over 20 years. As a cohesive and accommodating team of professionals, we are here to provide you the type of service you deserve.With all of the amenities we have to offer, comfortable rooms, wonderful food, a team of service professionals and a unique and charming northwoods décor, we are dedicated to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.Whether you enjoy “outdoor” activities like golfing, fishing, hunting, skiing, snowmobiling, hiking or boating...or you're the type who prefers the quiet comfort of simply relaxing by the pool, or unwinding in the sauna or whirlpool ... the Sawmill Inn is the place to stay!124 Rooms including six suitesFree use of AnyTime Fitness Coffee Makers / Hair DryersMicrowaves / Refrigerators(deluxe, king & suites only)High Speed InternetPet FriendlyVideo Game ArcadeGuest LaundryDry Cleaning ServiceRoom ServiceFree HOT Breakfast Monday-FridayPoolside, Poolview, Deluxe & King RoomsSuites12,000 sq. ft.Indoor Recreational Area. Relax in our climate controlled indoor domed pool and recreation area featuring a sauna, whirlpool, heated swimming pool and plenty of room for lounging. As the old adage goes, "Location, location, location," and when it comes to special events, we would definitely agree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sawmill Inn Of Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Sawmill Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing