We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Grand Rapids
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Away stay.”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed just one night, but upon check-in, they notified me the room has had pets in it and asked if that would be a problem. Checked in with no issues, and had a quiet night's stay. Next door is a bar for those that do not want to drive anywhere, and they had a live band. In the morning, a nice breakfast before you leave. The employee's were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddorholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a trip advisor survey.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are always trying new things with breakfast and are happy to hear it is working well for our guests.
We do have a great staff that work well together and I will be sure to share with them that their friendliness does not go unnoticed.
Thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    61
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
88
54
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rush City, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Went to the Grand Rapids Location for the third time. -- mainly because of my points earnings. Just not like the other Americinns I stay at. Smaller, less sound proof, and the breakfast was not good at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have enjoyed our recent stays in this chain. They usually have a large western like lobby with a more typical motel added on. This was the same. But it was also very clean and quiet. We travel with a dog so they also took dogs. Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmorgank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am glad to hear we've gained another loyal guest. It always brings a smile to our face here at the AmericInn to hear someone enjoys our brand and what we have to offer.
It is always nice to see people traveling with their furry family. We are glad to be able to accomodate all family types.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Hope you have more great travels with your pup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Decent rooms, good service. Weekend breakfast has a decent variety to choose from. Friendly staff. The pool was nice and warm. Ease of check in was stellar. Housekeeping does a nice job with supplying towels, soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Liese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Wow! Thank you for such a great review. It sounds like you enjoyed everything we have to offer. We are constantly updating and changing to accommodate guests.
We are glad the breakfast was nice, the pool was warm, and the staff was efficient. It's always a pleasure to hear such nice comments.
Thank you. Please come and see us again when your road leads this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I came to Grand Rapids to attend a wedding. After enjoying our stay at an AmericInn in Fargo back in 2007 we decided to return to the AmericInn brand for our stay. I remain impressed with the care taken by the people who operate the hotel. We arrived before the official check-in time but were welcomed and checked in to a clean, quiet room. Each morning we enjoyed the breakfast included with our stay complete with freshly made waffles. The location was central to all of the events we were attending as well as conveniently close to all kinds of restaurants and shops. I really don’t have anything negative to say about the AmericInn brand and will not hesitate to stay in another during our future travels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear we have succeeded with another loyal guest. We are proud of the AmericInn brand also, and we are happy that things were so grand for you. We strive to offer the same feeling at each location.
Here in Grand Rapids it is nice to be near the local activities and shops. We always hope to accommodate guest requests and we're glad we were able to get you in early to better enjoy what Grand Rapids has to offer. I hope the wedding was a beautiful event for you and your family.
Thank you and we hope you continue to enjoy your travels and the AmericInn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Clean rooms, fantastic breakfast. Not the most picturesque view out our window (back of brick walled American Legion that included watching the band set up and post party trash bags in the morning), but overall a great local for our weekend bike ride. Neighboring friends had an issue with a leaky sink and wet carpet, but I trust that will be taken care of as quickly as they reported it.

Room Tip: Our main floor access was great - Noise not an issue during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Grand Rapids area. The Mesabi trail is a wonderful option for active visitors, and many guests have enjoyed the trail.
We only wish we could give a better view to our guests also. We appreciate the info given on the leaky sink, and have always been quick to fix these issues.
Thank you for choosing the Grand Rapids AmericInn for your lodging needs, and we look forward to your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stay @Americinn whenever we can. Very happy with this hotel. Would recommend staying here when you are In Grand Rapids MN. Breakfast was exceptional. Bed very comfortable. Price is very good will stay here again.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your wonderful ratings and comments. It was truly our pleasure and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that the upgrades on beds and pillows is noticed and appreciated. There are even more improvements coming in the future.
On behalf of our staff here at the AmericInn Grand Rapids MN, we would like to thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
21 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#9 of 11 in Grand Rapids
49 reviews
15.3 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Grand Rapids

Property: AmericInn Grand Rapids
Address: 1812 S Pokegama Ave, P.O. Box 435, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing