We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Grand Rapids
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

In town for work, so didn't expect much and was pleasantly surprised how wrong my assumption was.

Front desk staff: extremely friendly and helpful - offered dinner suggestions to a variety of local places so didn't feel obligated to visit only one.

Rooms: Clean, microwave and fridge both silent when running and worked perfectly. Good size shower, bathroom on the small side (but let's face it, how much time are you really going to spend in the bathroom?) Beds very comfortable, easily able to adjust the room temperature and even tho' had to turn the heater on due to the very inclement June weather, the room 'held the heat' extremely well so did not need to turn it back on again upon going to sleep - assume this would be the same with the air conditioning.

Cleaning staff: extremely efficient and friendly.

Location: convenient for my purposes - walking distance to Cub grocery store and Target if there's something you need and they don't happen to have it at the front desk.

Amenities: There is a pool (didn't use but looked great) and guests have access to a local fitness facility.

WiFi: Fast and easy to navigate logging on

More of a selection at the breakfast bar than other places I've stayed for work: variety of 4 different cold cereals, greek yogurt, boiled eggs, 2 varieties of breakfast sandwiches, assortment of muffins and donuts, oranges, apples, instant oatmeal, Belgian style waffles with assortment of toppings, toast, decaf and regular coffee with vanilla, caramel, or hazelnut Torani syrup offerings if you like. Afternoon snack included fresh fruit and two types of cookies (peanut butter and chocolate chip); in the late afternoon/evening the baked goods are refreshed as well as the fruit and a salty snack mix (think Giardettos snack mix) is put out for consumption.

All in all, very pleasantly surprised with this AmericInn and would stay here again if in the area for either work or for family vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay ,thank you for all the great comments. You were so generous to point out so many of the positive amenities and the fact that all of our staff was so friendly , I will be sure to share your comments with the them. We look forward to having you stay with us again if you find yourself in the Grand Rapids area .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Grand Rapids
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our recent stay at this hotel was very nice. The customer service was great!!
The common areas of the hotel were clean and well taken care of.
We were lucky enough to get a whirlpool suite, which was so nice to use after a long day of watching lacrosse in the freezing cold!
The room was very spacious and clean. It must have been recently remodeled because it was very up to date! We had a mini fridge and microwave as well.
The bathroom area was well stocked, however, the tub/toilet was a separate (very small) room from the sink area.
The complementary breakfast was the usual fare of cereals, breads, fruits, waffles and biscuits and gravy.
The hotel is located near a Target, movie theater, Cub Foods, and other retail locations. It is also a few minutes drive from Zorbaz (delicious) Pizza.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeymom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on you stay with us .The staff also commented on how nice the guest were the weekend of your stay . We hope to see you next time you are in the Grand Rapids area .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a quick trip up to Grand Rapids. Overall it was a nice hotel, older and it showed in several places, but not too bad. Room was a little small, we had two queen beds and they practically touched the walls on both sides with only a small nightstand in between. But they were queens which sometimes are hard to find. The bathroom was small as well. When you sat on the toilet your body actually physically touched the toilet paper it was placed so close to the wall. The tub drained rather slow, but beyond that it was a nice stay. Breakfast buffett was very good with the standard waffle maker but also adding biscuits and gravy or breakfast burritos depending on the day. Sunday morning it was super busy at the buffet and they were struggling to keep up with the demand hence several items were either out or extremely low and had to wait a while to be refilled. Monday was much better when the weekend crowd was gone. It was a good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickP873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

I apologize that some of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are a older hotel and have been doing many updates in the last year .I Thank you for sharing your opinions and will be exploring how the breakfast can be better handled . We do hope that if you are in the area again you will chose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My enjoyment with the AmericInn in Grand Rapids began when I placed the phone call to make the reservation. The customer service on the phone alone was exceptional! When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and professional. I could tell right away that the hotel had updates lately. Our room was very clean. I slept very well. When it was time to head to our tournament in the morning, the hotel staff was able to give us directions and get us where we needed to be. I recommend this hotel for anyone wanting excellent customer service and a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two Harbors A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Two Harbors A

Your review was so great to read. I feel that we have a great staff and I am glad to hear you felt the same . Our goal is that all guest leave our hotel feeling the same way as you do.Thank you for sharing your experince and we hope to see you again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn as we wre traveling through Grnad Rapids last Wednesday. Dee at the front desk was EXCEPTIONAL - So friendly and helpful. She not only got us the room we were looking for, went out of her way to recommend a restaurant, and draw up directions. She made the whole trip worthwhile.

The room was clean, the breakfast and setting was excellent - Overall, a terrific value for the money.

Room Tip: Bathroom noise from neighboring room was a little loud and woke us up earlier in the morning than we...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Ron B
You are right Dee is an exceptional employee she always goes above & beyond. I will be sure to share your comments with her ,I know it will mean alot to her . It is always nice to hear from a guest when they have enjoyed their stay ,thank you for sharing your experince .We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to our area .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times when we visit the Grand Rapids area. Rooms are always clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly. We enjoy the hot tub after a busy day and the breakfast is a good way to get the day started. We will come back when we visit the area again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Blbeau

Thank you for sharing your experince and for being a loyal guest .It is nice to hear that you are comfortable and able to relax when staying at our hotel.We look forward to having you as our guest in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

By far this is one of the BEST AmericInn's I have stayed at. When I was there the employees went above and beyond to make sure my stay was perfect. Wonderful MN weather was new -20+ degrees and the staff made sure those of us who needed plug ins for our vehicles had them. Employees made sure there was fresh coffee and snacks available at all hours for those who had unique hours.

Great Town, Great Hotel, Amazing Staff!!!!!

Thank you for everything, I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: My room was very quiet, AmericInn has strived to make sure your stay is comfortable here.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GL130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear GL130,

Minnesota can be cruel in the winter months.Its nice to hear that we were able to meet your needs and that your stay was enjoyable .We look forward to having you as our guest in the future .Thank you for sharing your experince.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
21 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#9 of 11 in Grand Rapids
50 reviews
15.3 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Grand Rapids

Address: 1812 S Pokegama Ave, P.O. Box 435, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $87 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmericInn Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing