We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
NYA
2 reviews
“Anniversary trip”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had another enjoyable trip to Northern MN.to visit family. Lori the General manager goes out of her way to make sure everything is right. Thank You Lori. The staff was very knowledgeable in suggesting a wonderful restaurant for our Anniversary dinner. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    60
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
86
53
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Babbitt, MN
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Everything was excellent from being clean, updated, great hours for breakfast and the pool, and the service. This was a comfortable, quiet, friendly, and professional establishment. I will stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at AmericInn in Grand Rapids, MN and my faith in the chain has been restored. The rooms are quiet, the staff was professional and friendly, and bedding was very comfortable. The pool area was clean with lots of towels available. There is a free breakfast with a sign that stated it started at 6am. I had to be at work at 6, but stopped by a little before 5:30 to see if there was any coffee. I was thrilled that not only could I have coffee (which is very good), the whole breakfast was available. They had sandwiches, burritos, and french toast to heat in the microwave, cereal, yogurt, and an assortment of bread and pastries.

Room Tip: The rooms on the North side of the building are ajacent to an Eagles Club and a parking lot for a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RN_Mom_to_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I cannot begin to tell you how pleased I am to read your kind words .We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and anytime a guest needs an early breakfast we are happy to accommodate that request .We are waiting your return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Calhoun NE
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very nice hotel. Front desk staff was very friendly and helped us find a decent restaurant. The only problem was they chrged both rooms to my credit card when one room was supposed to be charged to my friend.
Clean quiet rooms,like it when the sink is not in the stool tub area. Beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Grand Rapids for a wedding and booked a 2 night stay at this hotel. Unfortunately, circumstances arose and we had to leave early. However, we did not check out before the housekeepers left by 2 pm (yes, there are no housekeepers after that early day time) and our room was not able to be cleaned so we were charged for another nights stay even though I had previously asked what the checkout policy was and was given non-specific enough instructions. The facility was nice, but horrible customer service. Yes, I do understand that we could not get a refund or even partial, but the staff and management were not even considerate; in fact they were quite rude. I guess that's what you pay for..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mle632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am sorry that you miss understood what was being said to you . Our hotel had been booked for that weekend for months, we turned away several potential guest and even that evening we had to turn people away . Had you informed us ealier in the day even as late as 1:30 pm we could have allowed you to check out and been able to clean the room and resell it .You didnt say anything to us until 4 pm which by then there was only 1 employee working and that person would not have been able to reclean your room due to how busy the hotel was .I am sorry that you are upset with policy of our hotel. I do not set out to be uncaring by any means .Due to the circumstances I had to make a decsion .I hope that you can understand someday our postion in this matter.The cancelation policy is for the date of arrival which is 6 pm the check out policy is 11 am on the day that you plan to check out .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday. Room had king size bed and bed was very good; TV flat screen. Bath okay. Breakfast a bit sparser than another AmericInn we used. No noise issues. Staff not as friendly as other AmericInn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Tom , It sounds as if your experince wasn't quite what you were hoping for .I apologize for that and have shared your comments with my staff .I hope that if you are ever in the Grand Rapids area you will visit with us again giving us a chance to make your stay more enjoyable the 2nd time around.
Thank You , Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a weekend night. Our room was a King NS room, which was recently updated and was very clean, had plenty of towels, a flat screen tv, nice sofa, microwave, and fridge and the internet worked great in the room. The bed seemed a little stiff as we both woke up with a backache, but then we are used to pillowtop beds. We were told these beds are about 6 months old. Breakfast in the morning is served until 10AM which is very nice. Most of the hot items you have to heat up in the microwave or toaster, but were tasty. This hotel is situated near restaurants and stores. We will most likely give this hotel another try, when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmomma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngr, General Manager at AmericInn Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words ,sorry that the bed was a bit stiff for you ,I do hope that you had some restful sleep . Here at the AmericInn we work hard to make sure our guest relax & recharge while at our hotel .I will pass on your comments about your guest room being clean to the housekeeping staff ,they enjoy hearing comments like that .We look forward to having you as one of our future guest .
Sincerely , Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
47 reviews
15.3 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Grand Rapids

Property: AmericInn Grand Rapids
Address: 1812 S Pokegama Ave, P.O. Box 435, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing